Snow Leopard Image Capture Save Location

Discussion in 'macOS' started by WilliamTM, Sep 8, 2009.

  1. WilliamTM macrumors member

    WilliamTM

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Stafford, UK
    #1
    Image Capture in Snow Leopard defaults to saving to the Pictures folder, but I want to change it to the Desktop instead. If I simply change it in the app, close it, and open it again, it reverts back to the Pictures folder.

    Any ideas? :(
     
  2. Corrosive vinyl macrumors 6502

    Corrosive vinyl

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #2
    that is odd, mine defaulted to desktop. Are you using grab or the shift>command>4 keyboard shortcut?
    I use the keyboard shortcut.
     
  3. WilliamTM thread starter macrumors member

    WilliamTM

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Stafford, UK
    #3
    I mean Image Capture.app - the utility to download photos off the iPhone / digital cameras. Not screenshots. ;)
     
  4. oculus42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Location:
    Maine
    #4
    I do not think you can set it, but I'm on 10.5 right now (have 10.6 at home). Image Capture is very simplistic, and what are you thinking putting pictures on the desktop?!?!?!?!?! :p
     
  5. enero@serpico50 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    #5
    Same issue here

    I dont know if Im missing something or if this is a bug. In leopard and all past systems, Image Capture was able to remember specific folders that were associated with individual devices. Now it cant remember anything and wont even show me recently visited folders in the drop down. Nor will it open the folder it was importing to, when finished :(
     
  6. xmiinc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Anybody ever find a solution for this? I still remember when IC would remember folder and format prefs. Since SL, nothin.

     
  7. xmiinc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Solved

    Got it...use Preview instead. Same controls as Image Capture but needing one more step after launch: File>Import From Scanner...

    The major difference is Preview remembers previous scanner settings, while Image Capture doesn't. Yay!

     
  8. jamesarm97 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #8
    Same here. Image Capture use to remember the folder setting I used (network folder) with Mountain Lion. Now with Mavericks it is back to defaulting to Pictures.
     

Share This Page