Snow Leopard in 64-bit - Longer boot times?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by BeSweeet, Sep 10, 2009.

  1. BeSweeet macrumors 68000

    BeSweeet

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #1
    Doe anyone else think that, when booting into 64-bit mode, your boot times are longer? I swear mine are 2-3 seconds longer. Performance seems just a tad bit better, so I'll stick with 64-bit mode, but I wanna see what other people think.
     
  2. walshlink macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    #2
    my gawd! 2-3 seconds slower? what will you ever do? everytime you boot you are losing 2-3 seconds of your life... that's it! enough! I will start a class-action suit against Apple...care to join? We should be compensated for this loss of 2-3 seconds of our precious lives...

    /sarcasm :D

    I'll test it out tonight and see what I get... cheers!
     
  3. BeSweeet thread starter macrumors 68000

    BeSweeet

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #3
    Overall, startup ad shutdown times are definitely longer in SL than in Leopard. I should have done a clean install, but it's too late.
     
  4. zeeklancer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #4
    I am betting you only see slow starts on the first boot of 64, because it will have to re-cache. After that I would think your boot times would be back to normal, unless apple has a different startup producers for 64bit vs 32bit.


    -Zeek
     
  5. Menge macrumors 6502a

    Menge

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #5
    My experience with an upgrade, so far, has been really bad - slower everywhere. I can't wait to finish an important project of mine so I can do a clean install.
     
  6. runebinder macrumors 6502a

    runebinder

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #6
    Yup you're spot on with this. When using 6 + 4 on boot was taking a lot longer, changed the com.apple.Boot.plist and on second reboot was about 4-5 seconds quicker.

    Unfortunately can't get Macfuse to work so gone back to 32 bit in order to see my Bootcamp partition.
     

Share This Page