Snow Leopard lost 250MB of Ram

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ikos, Aug 28, 2009.

  1. ikos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #1
    in Activity Monitor what used to show my 4GB of ram is now showing 3.75GB WTF!!! anyone else have the same issue?
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #2
    my 2 gigs is still at 2 gigs
     
  3. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #3
    Yep.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. A Macbook Pro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    #4
    Who cares. Hardware wise, you still have 4GB of RAM. So, big deal.
     
  5. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #5
    used + free = 4 gigs still

    weird mine reports what i have installed
     
  6. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #6
    Doesnt matter to much to me, anyways.
     
  7. Kyeris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Somewhere in Texas
    #7
    The 9400M uses 256MB of your Mac's RAM, it's not dedicated memory. That's shown under activity monitor now. However, I believe the 9600M is dedicated memory and not shared (15" & 17" MBP, user switchtable graphics cards), but I could be wrong.
     
  8. dlewis23 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #8
    Thats what I figured too, but I am not using my 9400M at the moment. So if i'm on my 9600M with its 256 MB of dedicated ram it shouldn't take that away.
     
  9. Kyeris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Somewhere in Texas
    #9
    I'm not sure how the switching works with the 9600M, but your MBP boots up with it, correct? Meaning you don't have to switch to it when you boot up
     
  10. adwolfe12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
  11. dlewis23 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #11
    Correct. My 9600M is the default card, so I'm not switching at any point. So if that is the reason why its 256 MB less it should not be taking that ram away. I could totally understand that when the 9400M is on, but not with the 9600M because it had dedicated ram.
     
  12. Kyeris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Somewhere in Texas
    #12
    (I'm not some guru or anything - just an idea)
    I'm assuming the 256MB is allocated by the kernel at bootup no matter what graphics card you are on, so it's ready if you do decide to switch to the 9400M. I don't think it would be possible to allocate a specific amount of memory after bootup (I could be easily wrong).
     
  13. ikos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #13
    I have a 13.3 MBP only one graphics card 9400m. so why 250mb less?
     
  14. Kyeris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Somewhere in Texas
    #14
    Because as it was already said - the 9400M allocates 256MB of the system's physical memory as VRAM (video ram).
     
  15. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #15
    1) Are you on a notebook with shared memory? That could be it.

    2) Macworld had an article about Snow Leopard's "new math." I don't think this is the case with your issue, but SL is now taking, 250,000,000,000 bytes and calling it 250 gigabytes instead of 238.3 gigabytes. Your hard drive is still the same size, it's just the difference between counting as 1024 vs. 1000.
     
  16. benj07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #16
    an answer

    Whereas Leopard would show the total amount of memory you had installed, Snow Leopard only shows the amount that the OS is able to access.

    For example, I have 4 GB in my 2007 macbook. However, it's only able to access about 3 GB. In Leopard, it showed 4...in snow leopard it now shows 3.

    I'm almost certain that if you were still in leopard and added up the used memory and free memory, it would total the same amount as SL is currently showing you have.
     
  17. friede macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #17
    Activity Monitor only shows 3.75GB RAM in 10.6 (and 4GB in 10.5)

    Does anybody know why acivity monitor on my 13" MBP shows only 3.75GB RAM on Snow Leopard? I'm sure that Leopard showed me 4GB...
     
  18. specops macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #18
    i noticed the same thing last night... i wonder if it depends on if u boot with a 32bit kernel or 64bit...
     
  19. zachplaysguitar macrumors 6502

    zachplaysguitar

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #19
    I think this was changed to show the 9400M's use of the system memory. If you go to about this mac, it will still show 4GB but the activity monitor shows what is actually available for system use other than the gfx card.
     
  20. Trivial rock macrumors regular

    Trivial rock

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #20
    Same thing here, dont think its 9400M

    I have a late 08 unibody with the 9400M and the 9600M GT when I switch to the GT Activity Monitor still shows 3.75GB!!??

    I wonder what is going on here? :rolleyes:
     
  21. cababah macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #21
    +1

    I noticed this as well. Could be allocated to the GPU now?
     
  22. falerus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #22
    I could be wrong, but I remember reading that the RAM is always allocated to the 9400, whether you're using the 9400 or the 9600. This could be to ensure that memory is free for when you want to switch from the 9600 to the 9400.
     
  23. p3ncil macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
  24. santos79 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    #24
    Check Activity Monitor

    No, you need to check the Activity Monitor. Not "About this Mac": that just tells you how much is installed, the AM informs you how that installed memory is used.
     
  25. floaty83 macrumors newbie

    floaty83

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Location:
    Springfield, MO
    #25

Share This Page