Snow Leopard: No Image Capture preferences?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by parish, Sep 3, 2009.

  1. parish macrumors 65816

    parish

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Wilts., UK
    #1
    In Snow Leopard there is no longer a Preferences item on the Image Capture menu.

    I was looking for the option When a camera is connected, open:. I eventually found it in iPhoto preferences.

    Is this correct, or is my install (u/g from Leopard) broken?

    Also, what other Image Capture prefs were there, and where are they now? :confused:
     
  2. rorschach macrumors 68020

    rorschach

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #2
    You can set it per-device.

    From Image Capture help:

    From the “Connecting this [device] opens” pop-up menu, choose Image Capture.

    If you don’t see that pop-up menu, click the “Show device settings” button in the lower-left corner.
     
  3. parish thread starter macrumors 65816

    parish

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Wilts., UK
    #3
    Thanks, but that appears to be a per-device setting whereas the old pref - which now appears in iPhoto - seems to be per-device-type, i.e. any camera.

    I've sorted it now, but was just curious where/why the old prefs have moved.
     
  4. generatech macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    #4
    Ppreferences seem to be automatic, A.I.-ish...?

    I have a MacMini running OS X 10.6.4 with ImageCapture and it remembers my last folder location, scan settings and the last file name.

    I worked on a new MacBook Pro running OS X 10.6.4 and went to configure Image Capture and it wouldn't remember any setting changes: not the "other" folder I scanned to, nor the name, nor the PDF or color option. I searched the web for instructions on setting ImageCapture preferences and found lots of fairly technical suggestions because ImageCapture doesn't have a Preferences option any more.

    I gave up, but not before scanning several times (didn't count but at least 6 times), and each time re-specified a scan-destination folder, which I'd created in the Documents folder, plus changed other scan settings).

    Then I started ImageCapture one more time and low and behold, it had all the settings from my last scan! Hurray! Plus, if I changed the scan type from PDF to jpeg and quit Image Capture, it retained the new info.

    That Steve Jobs.... Often forcing new ways of doing things on users.

    So on 2 Macs running 10.6.4, they both now retain their custom ImageCapture preferences merely by using Image Capture (it detected my preferences).

    It seems kind of "out there," and maybe there's something else going on, like a bug where ImageCapture doesn't retain user settings until the 6th or 7th or some nth Quit.

    Anyway, if the apparent lack of Image Capture preference control ticks you off, try this: change ImageCapture's settings, scan something, quit, then repeat several times. After 5-10 times you should notice your preferences "sticking" if what happened for me on two Macs wasn't a fluke.
     
  5. xmiinc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Qwik-n-Dirty Method: Use Preview instead. Same controls as Image Capture but needing one more step after launch: File>Import From Scanner...

    The major difference is Preview remembers previous scanner settings, while Image Capture doesn't. Yay!
     
  6. JeremyLopez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    #6
    Same Issue here except while importing from SD card

    Does anyone know if there is a pfile or something to set Image Capture default location. I import all my photos using Image Capture and change the folder once a month. I am running 10.6.7 on an iMac Quad i7. I have the same issues as generatech below. Thanks for any help that people might be able to provide.

    - Jeremy

     
  7. emailboy macrumors newbie

    emailboy

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #7
    In 10.5, it was easy to set Image Capture preferences (per-device, no less). I had it set to download items from my camera card to a set folder, and then run a script that fixed the .avi creation dates. Now, in 10.6, these are gone and I have to remember to run my fixup script manually.
     

Share This Page