Snow Leopard on a new HD

Discussion in 'macOS' started by musicdan, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. musicdan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #1
    I recently upgraded to Snow Leopard. Now I want to upgrade my HD from 120 to 500 GB. How do I re-install Snow Leopard? Do I have to install Leopard first? I have the disks that came with my MacBook, and obviously the Snow Leopard family pack which I used on the MacBook and my iMac.
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    No, you do not have to install Leopard first
    Just use your SL DVD

    But you could just clone your HDD and restore it to your new HDD

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. natallica macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    #3
    One thing to keep in mind is that if you put in a new drive, you'll have to first run Disk Utility to initialize the drive. You can do this from the Utilities menu when you boot off the SL installer disk.

    Otherwise, the installer won't see a disk it can install itself on.

    -- N
     
  4. musicdan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
  5. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #5
    Time Machine would be a good way to do this if you have an external HD.
     

Share This Page