Snow Leopard onto a Lion system?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by capell123, Aug 9, 2011.

  1. capell123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #1
    Hello,

    Am I right in thinking it's impossible to get Snow Leopard to run on a system that ships with Lion?

    We're looking to get some Mac Pros for work, but can't trust Lion yet. Are the existing Mac pros shipping with Lion now?

    Someone mentioned that hardware is the reason Leopard wouldn't run on a Lion system, but the hardware in the current Pros is the same as it was last year, right?

    Thanks,

    NJ
     
  2. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
  3. Blue Sun macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Theoretically it is possible as SL has drivers for the existing Mac Pro hardware.

    The best way I can think of is cloning a recent SL version (eg. 10.6.8) using Carbon Copy Cloner to a fresh hard drive, then inserting that into the Mac Pro.

    Hope this helps.
     
  4. capell123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #4
    Hmmmmm interesting. Thanks for the replies.

    So the current Mac pros are definitely shipping with Lion then?
     
  5. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #5
    Right now in the UK a standard machine might ship with Snow Leopard. A customised machine will most likely come with Lion.

    I suggest going to an apple store or phoning them to ask if you can get stock with Snow Leopard on it.
     

Share This Page