Snow Leopard + OpenCL

Discussion in 'macOS' started by wrldwzrd89, Feb 6, 2009.

  1. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #1
    I'm just guessing as much as everyone else... but I'd be REALLY annoyed if my less than 1-year old Intel iMac does NOT make the cut for OpenCL support in Snow Leopard. I understand technology like that requires certain hardware capabilities, but sheesh - why couldn't Apple have prepared for this with the last Mac refreshes?

    I know some users will be miffed, since their Macs are even younger than mine, and definitely lack the power for OpenCL...
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    If it's Core 2, it will absolutely work.

    PowerPC and Core aren't as secure, however.
     
  3. Animalk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal Canada
    #3
    Wrong. Again. My MBP will not utilize OpenCL as it doesn't have a gpu with the correct architecture yet it is a Core 2.

    There is a user named "Quu" who has gone to the trouble of explaining this very topic to great length on multiple occasions. I highly recommend a search.
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    Wait, what? That doesn't make any sense. What's the reasoning behind the lack-of-workingness?

    I'm with J on this one.
     
  5. wrldwzrd89 thread starter macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    I specifically said it was an Intel iMac, and less than 1 year old. Does that not imply Core 2 Duo somehow?
     

Share This Page