Snow Leopard or 4GB RAM?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by bc008, Aug 24, 2009.

  1. bc008 macrumors 68000

    bc008

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    I have a 2.4 GHz Aluminum Macbook. Which upgrade would provide the most bang for my buck? I plan on doing both in time, but I am going to purchase as the money comes available, which wont be for a while. As I have to wait, what will help my machine the most first?
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #2
    how much ram you have now?

    i personally would get the ram over SL
     
  3. bc008 thread starter macrumors 68000

    bc008

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    2GB. Any specific reason you would choose the RAM?
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    You can never have enough RAM, and Snow Leopard will always be the same price.

    Wait... DDR3 RAM prices will only go down... :p:confused:

    Okay, wait to see the performance benefits of Snow Leopard and then weigh those with new RAM. :D
     
  5. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #5
    well depends what your are doing i suppose

    what are your page in/page out ratio in activty monitor?

    if its less than 10:1 I would get ram. if not, get SL
     
  6. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #6
    I would get SL.
    wait about a month for ram to see SL performance and prices will drop.
     
  7. NathanCH macrumors 65816

    NathanCH

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #7
    You really wont see much performance changes in Snow Leopard at all. Unless for some reason the developer version was purposely made the same speed as Leopard.
     
  8. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    It uses less RAM than Leopard, and applications written for it will do the same.
     
  9. bc008 thread starter macrumors 68000

    bc008

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #9
    hmm. All very intriguing posts. I guess I will have to wait 4 days to see if people really notice a speed boost. I am going to purchase both in the end anyways, So I am not to worried, just wondering what you guys thought. :)
     
  10. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #10
    see, im debating to go SL on my hackintosh. there is SOME serenity with keeping it at leopard as i wont ever have to handle those "updates" from apple any more lol
     
  11. rich2k4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #11
    then how come the general requirements say 1 GB of ram for SL but only 512mb for leopard
     
  12. nullx86 macrumors 6502a

    nullx86

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
    #12
    SL is 64bit, which uses more than 32bit.
     
  13. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #13
    I don't think that matters as on a MB wouldn't its kernel in Snow Leopard automatically be 32-bit? There are a few threads stating that only certain models of Macs will actually support 64-bit kernels??? And, most Macs will be able to run 64-bit apps with 32-bit kernel. And memory allocation doesn't depend on kernel but rather on apps and CPU...

    I don't really know for sure, but I do know that Snow Leopard requires 1 GB RAM whereas Leopard only required 512 MB... However, I think that Snow Leopard would better utilize it with 64-bit apps.

    Back to the OP>>> it depends. Honestly, I doubt you're using your full 2 GB of RAM. Snow Leopard will make your MB faster for sure. You could use Activity Monitor and check how much RAM is allocated with your normal array of apps open... also check swap to see if too high (read about what should be using Google or this forum).

    I would do Snow Leopard if it were me.

    Good luck...
     
  14. nullx86 macrumors 6502a

    nullx86

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
    #14

    Right now, all INTEL (SL is NOT PPC Compatible) Macs support 64-bit (run CPU-x and look for "EMT64" if you dont beleive me), but the OS (Leopard, Tiger, etc) is all 32-bit. And you cannot run 64-bit apps on a 32-bit kernel. Not possible. You can run 32bit apps on a 64bit OS, but not the other way.
     
  15. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    #15
    Wrong

    Core 2 Duos Macs are 64-bit. Core Duos are 32-bit.

    No Macs will run with the 64-bit kernel by default in Snow Leopard except the Xserve for compatibility reasons.

    You can run 64-bit apps over the 32-bit kernel.

    End of story.
     

Share This Page