Snow Leopard problem with Norton

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dbhoward, Sep 5, 2009.

  1. dbhoward macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    #1
    How's it going everyone? I'm a fairly new mac user and just upgraded to snow leopard. I'm unable to connect to the internet with the new upgrade even though other snow leopard users are using the same access point at my home. I just tried deleting Norton Symantec security but it still seems to be on the computer. Am I correct in assuming norton is the problem since it is not supported in snow leopard? sorry it's lengthy but I appreciate the help! Thanks a lot!!
     
  2. Tower-Union macrumors 6502

    Tower-Union

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    #2
    Your correct in assuming Norton is a problem. On ANY computer. . .
     
  3. dbhoward thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    #3
    alright so how do I get rid of everything so it doesn't throw up error codes????
     
  4. Buzz Bumble Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    You won't be able to just delete the Norton folder / application from the Applications folder. It will have installed bits and pieces all over the place for background and startup processes.

    I don't know how the newer versions of Norton software get installed, but you will probably have to go back to the original installer and look for an "uninstall" option, or possibly re-install the bit(s) you've deleted and then look for an "uninstall" option in the main application.

    And don't bother buying or updating it.

    As Tower-Union basically said, Norton "security" or "anti-virus" software isn't needed (nor is any other Mac anti-virus software) and is largely a con by the software companies. All such software really does is slow down you computer a little and add unnecessary extra complications.
     
  5. creon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #5
    I think there is an app called Zappit...works wonders for removing programs like this.

    Norton has been the cause of many of my PC's death. Macs don't need Anti-Virus; don't waste the space on your HD. The best anti-virus is yourself; beware of what you download and sites you visit.
     
  6. dbhoward thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    #6
    alright thanks a lot guys... I got Norton uninstalled successfully (gone for good.) but the problem is still present... It sees and connects to wifi but does connect to the internet (although other macs work) any ideas how i can get it to connect? Worked fine until SL upgrade... read of other people having the same problems but could not find a fix... thanks again
     
  7. creon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #7
    Wait, it is gone yet you get a error message?

    Try a reboot.
     
  8. Tower-Union macrumors 6502

    Tower-Union

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    #8
    What's your IP address? Is your computer able to see your router?
     
  9. Drewsky87 macrumors 6502

    Drewsky87

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    MD
    #9
    After you reboot, try pulling the plug on your router for a few seconds then plug it back in.
     
  10. whybnrml macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #10
    Solution

    I had a similar problem after upgrading. Under Network Settings, where it says "Location", deselect what is selected and click "edit locations". Add a new location, call it whatever, and reconnect to your desired network.
     

Share This Page