Snow Leopard Ram Usage

Discussion in 'macOS' started by waloshin, Oct 20, 2008.

  1. waloshin macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #1
    What is with all the questions of more than 8 gigabytes of ram with the new Macbook and the Macbook Pro? Does this mean the Snow Leopard will use more ram than Leopard, kinda like Xp to Vista? When in Xp 1 to 2 gigabytes or ram was sufficient, then when Vista came along you needed at least 2 - 4 gigabytes of ram.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  3. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #3
    Ya that is true.
     
  4. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #4
    Same requirements as Leopard I'd guess.

    Apple are working on efficiency with this release not more bloatware.
     
  5. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
  6. mattluc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    York, PA
    #6
    I imagine it's going to still be a while before most apps are 64-bit. So wouldn't one of apple's goals in streamlining leopard into snow leopard be to decrease the ram usage when loading any combination of 32/64-bit apps?
     
  7. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    There's not a whole lot they can do about it, tbh. I suppose they can work to lower the footprint of the libraries overall*, but that just changes the constant factor, not the multiplier. The main thing I can think of is leaning pretty hard on developers to get their apps running 64 bit.


    *which is why I predict slightly lower usage when running 64bit only, despite larger pointers.
     

Share This Page