Snow Leopard recommended for this Mac?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by xiaobao12, Apr 26, 2010.

  1. xiaobao12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #1
    It is a 2 GHZ Intel Core 2 Duo Macbook with 1 GB RAM.

    I know Apple.com says it's OK but do you guys think 1 GB ram with 2.0 GHZ is beefy enough to run it?

    Thank you.:eek:
     
  2. macgeek18 macrumors 68000

    macgeek18

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #2
    Yeah it should no problem.Then just upgrade to 2GB of ram whenever you get around to it. I know someone with a 1.83Ghz CD MB with 1GB ram who runs SL. Hope that helps. :)
     
  3. xiaobao12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #3
    Thx Macgeek. Do you know if your friend had performance issues? Because right now, there are performance issues even with Tiger (whenever Firefox is open, the computer starts to stall if it has been open for awhile, etc.). Will these things improve with SL?

    Thank you:)
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    IMO, 1GB is woefully inadequate for any modern OS these days. 2GB should be on everyone's minimum spec. My 1.66 Core Duo mini ran SL just fine with 2GB.
     
  5. xiaobao12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #5
    hey flop, according to some other topic on here, I can actually max out the Macbook with 6GB. Do you have any recommendations on where to get RAM if I want to upgrade?
     
  6. drewdle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    Nanaimo, BC
    #6
    I can vouch for this setup running fine. One of my systems was a MacMini 1.83Ghz with 1Gb of memory and Intel graphics, and aside from being a touch laggardly in Aperture, it ran fine. More memory is always a plus however.
     
  7. drewdle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    Nanaimo, BC
    #7

    That probably won't improve without more memory. Firefox, even in it's more recent incarnations, is a memory pig. It loves memory. You'll get a slight boost in efficiency from running Intel-only system code instead of Universal code in Leopard, but not enough to offset Firefox.
     
  8. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #8
    Caution that you have a late '07 model and not a prior model. The difference is the earlier will max out at 3.3GB if you install 4GB. I recommend 4GB in you MacBook regardless. That should be plenty unless you have higher unstated needs.

    I've always dealt with Other World Computing for my upgrades. Their products are tested and guaranteed to work with Mac products.
     
  9. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #9
    +1. You need a Santa Rosa based MacBook or better. Not one based on a GMA950. I think the 4GB RAM modules are not worth the money at the moment. I had a GMA950 MacBook with 3.3GB that ran Firefox just fine. My 3.3GB iMac does too. 4GB is the sweet spot at the moment. Enough RAM to run most things without getting ridiculous in price. You should be fine with 3.3GB/4GB for a few years.
     
  10. macgeek18 macrumors 68000

    macgeek18

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #10
    you should use Safari,much better web browser.Not to mention it was created for Mac. :) That should boost performance and you should run disk utility every once in awhile.Verify and repair permissions. :)
     

Share This Page