Snow Leopard theme for 10.5.8?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by eyoungren, Jul 18, 2014.

  1. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #1
    Wondering if there is any SL theme out there for Leopard, PowerPC.

    I know AQUADock has the ML theme, but I'm only looking to make a minor change here on my new iBook. If not, I'll go and install the ML theme, but I wanted to ask this first in case anyone knew of something.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    There are very little to no UI changes between Leopard and Snow Leopard. Would a theme really be noticeable?
     
  3. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    IDK! One of the reasons I'm asking. I've actually never used Snow Leopard. The first real use I've ever had of OS X on an Intel Mac was with Lion and that was for all of 20 minutes while I was upgrading our Mac Pro to Mountain Lion. Then when Mavericks came out it was off to that.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    Change the DefaultDesktop.jpg to one of Snow Leopard Aurora. I am not sure if it is possible to make the Dock's application menus black like in Snow Leopard.
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    I think the black Dock menus are just images that can be copied over from Snow Leopard.
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    Yes. I just verified that the files are located in /System/Library/CoreServices/Dock.app/Content/Resources.
     
  7. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #7
    Thanks guys. I went ahead and went with Mountain Leopard. Didn't feel like fooling around with stuff.

    Altemose, would it be possible for you to zip up those Dock graphics you mentioned and link to it? If there are black menus to be had this might go well with my customized PowerBook.

    I don't own SL, which is why I ask.
     
  8. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    I'm sensing a White/Gray theme for this little iBook. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #9

    Right after I upgrade the machine to Mavericks you tell me. I will see what I can do.

    ----------


    I like it.
     
  10. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #10
    LOL, isn't that always the way!

    Thanks!
     
  11. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #11

    I will see if Mavericks has the black ones.
     
  12. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #12
    I would say no. It's my understanding that the Dock is a self-contained thing in Mavericks that can't be modified. I recall quite a lot of consernation about the Dock being uncustomizable in the first release.

    There's a stupid omnipresent white strip underneath the damn thing that you cannot get rid of and the menus are silver.
     
  13. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #13

    I am actually loading Lion tomorrow on a Mac so I can look then for you. I also have to fix the Dock on my PowerBook since I screwed that up trying to make a theme for a Yosemite Dock.
     
  14. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #14
    Here is a screenshot of my Mavericks system, no stupid omnipresent white strip underneath, never was, and the menus are black.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #15
    Move your dock to either side of your screen.

    It's there when the dock is 2D and having it on the side makes it 2D.

    If you don't see the white strip, I will take a screenshot of the Mac Pro at work tomorrow.
     
  16. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #16
    Like this?
     

    Attached Files:

  17. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #17
    Like that, yes.

    As far as I know, you can't get rid of it. If you can, I'd appreciate knowing how. The last time I looked in the Mav forums here the major complaint was that the dock couldn't be altered.
     
  18. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #18
    Someone made a Dock-changing app for Mavericks. I am not a UI customizer (stock iPhone, OS X, etc.) and the most UI change I ever did was installing AQUADock's ML theme and changing some icons so I never used that app. That being said, Maverick's Dock doesn't bother me, but I do have to go back to 10.7 Lion for compatibility reasons unfortunately.
     
  19. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #19
    Thanks, I will take a second look.

    I tend to customize things heavily because I spend a lot of time using them. This Mac Pro not so much. However, I've always had a clear dock since 10.2.8 and this is one of a few things about Mav that bothers me. The other being that Apple killed off labels. We use labels at work to designate what kind of ads we're working with. Now it's these little hard to see balls that because of the way Finder windows work now disappear when I expand the windows.

    And that's another issue. Since Lion, it's impossible to manuever a window down in size to anything like you can with Leopard.

    And don't even get me started on the wacky SMB2 and ACL permissions crap that Mavericks is pulling over on our new Win 2012 server!

    I've been forced to disable Quicklook because it in combination with Get Info and the Finder has the Finder holding folder and files open for a set period of time even after you close them. That makes it impossible to rename folders and files until the hold time is up! And now I have to connect using CIFS in order to force a connection at SMB1!
     
  20. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #20
    Now, we have tags which are much better. Also,when I get the chance, I'll upload the images from SL if you'd like.
     
  21. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #21
    Tags aren't any better for me. Take a look at this snap of my left screen at work. You can see a folder named 7_24-25_2014 and in there an Ads folder with further breakdowns.

    Can you tell me which ads are pickups and which ads are new for this week?

    Now, take a look at the other picture with the color labels. If you know that Blue is a House Ad, yellow is a pickup and no color is a new ad, while red in the other folders there means the current week being worked on can you then tell what's what?

    If I sort folders by tags then I lose my file structure. No, sorry, tags don't work for me.

    As to the SL images, thank you, I'd appreciate that.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #22
    Well I don't seem to have the problem, sorry but I can't tell you why.
    [Stock Mavericks 10.9.4 install]
     

    Attached Files:

  23. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #23
    Yes, you do. That white background right there. Your dock is opaque, not transparent.
     
  24. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #24
    OK now I see, from your original post I've been looking for a "white strip underneath the dock" not realizing you were referring to the dock background.
    Even then my dock background is silver-grey not white, which I guess is why I was looking for a "white line"
     
  25. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #25
    Yeah, sorry I should have been more specific. :eek:

    It is kind of silverey though if I look at it hard enough.
     

Share This Page