Snow Leopard...Worth it?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Ram Mac, Sep 10, 2009.

1. Ram Mac macrumors newbie

Ram Mac

Hey guys, I have been reading up on Snow Leopard and I cannot decide whether or not it is worth it to buy it. I mean only $30 for an upgrade is an amazing price. But it seems that even with your $30, you are not getting your money's worth. So I don't know if I should get it or not? What are your thoughts? Pros and cons please

2. lorenwade macrumors 68000

lorenwade

Seriously?

It's $25 shipped on Amazon. That's ridiculous cheap and your system runs faster. I don't know why anyone wouldn't unless they really couldn't afford the $25-$30.

Plus, you might be kicking yourself in the butt when the next upgrade comes.

Small investment, small upgrade. :apple:

3. Shiner macrumors 6502

Not worth it. You will notice no difference. Wait a year and apple will give it to you for 5$.

4. Ram Mac thread starter macrumors newbie

Ram Mac

I am a college student. I am poor lol, plus most of my college stuff runs off 32 bit, can you get 32 bit snow leopard?

5. After G macrumors 68000

After G

Well, you don't really have to get it ... but $30 isn't that much in the grand scheme of things. If you consider how much time you will spend on the computer, not getting it seems ridiculous from that perspective.

Snow Leopard boots 32 and 64 bit from the same install CD. There is no separate 32 bit version like on Windows or Linux.

And it really does make your Intel Mac run faster (for perspective, I am running a 2006 Core Duo mini.)

6. Richard1028 macrumors 68000

There's a benchmark thread around here somewhere that contradicts this statement. Negligible difference - not enough to notice.

I certainly can't tell.

7. clevin macrumors G3

clevin

as many people mentioned, there is likely no noticeable speed difference.

it will save GB size HDD space, is that a big enough plus?

On the downside: