SnowLeopard Itunes

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by RhianB, Jun 8, 2018.

Tags:
  1. RhianB macrumors 6502a

    RhianB

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Location:
    505 USA
    #1
    Itunes stopped working. Click on the icon in taskbar as well as the app folder and nothing. Any ideas on how to fix aside from rolling back via TM?
     
  2. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Hmm.. same here. I wonder what’s going on.
     
  3. RhianB thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RhianB

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Location:
    505 USA
    #3
    Ahh wow I’m not alone here. I wonder what hairy pot head has to say ;)
     
  4. AphoticD, Jun 8, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2018

    AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    It took me a while to get your reference there to a young British wizard, also known as @LightBulbFun :rolleyes:
     
  5. RhianB, Jun 9, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2018

    RhianB thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RhianB

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Location:
    505 USA
    #5
    All in jest ;)
    --- Post Merged, Jun 9, 2018 ---
    Just realized I havent set up TM on this since the SL reinstall so I think I will try an uninstall and reinstall of itunes and see if that fixes the app. I'll report back.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 9, 2018 ---
    Worked like a charm. Back up n' running.
     
  6. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Nice work @RhianB. :cool:

    I have Snow Leopard on both an original MacBook1,1 and a MacBookPro1,1. On the MBP, iTunes kept failing to open, but it was working fine on the MB.

    For some reason, the iTunes.app must have been missing a bunch of resources, because here is the Get Info size calculation on the MBP (which wasn't launching)..
    Screen shot 2018-06-09 at 10.33.45 PM.png
    And here it is again on the MacBook, which was working;
    Screen shot 2018-06-09 at 10.33.51 PM.png
    I just zipped up iTunes.app and copied it across to the MBP, replaced the previous (smaller) copy of iTunes, double clicked and all was A OK again.

    How bizarre... o_O
     
  7. RhianB thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RhianB

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Location:
    505 USA
    #7
    That is weird. I adjusted permissions soI could delete the app, ran the updater & reinstalled from there. After this experience however, I think I’ll DL the manual install version & keep it on my NAS. That way I’m not tied down to WiFi/Internet to fix any failures.
     

Share This Page