SnowLp: How to get iRecovery to work?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jdaniel, Feb 13, 2010.

  1. jdaniel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #1
    Ok I have a problem, I am trying to get irecovery to work:

    I have managed to downgrade to 3.1.2 but I get no service so I am trying the process again, but I am stuck in recovery mode so.. I followed the instructions for irecovery, as i understand it I download the file, unzip it, I click on it:

    Last login: Sat Feb 13 19:45:59 on ttys000
    /Users/jdaniel/Desktop/irecovery ; exit;
    Jay-Daniels-MacBook-Pro:~ jdaniel$ /Users/jdaniel/Desktop/irecovery ; exit;
    iRecovery - Recovery Utility
    by westbaer
    Thanks to pod2g, tom3q, planetbeing and geohot.

    ./iRecovery [args]
    -f <file> upload file.
    -r reset usb.
    -c "command" sends a single command.
    -s starts a shell.

    logout

    [Process completed]

    That screen doesnt allow me to do anything:

    I open terminal I enter a variety of things i have read: irecovery -s or ./irecovery -s or even with R in caps... nothing

    -bash: ./irecovery: No such file or directory or i get no such command

    Help ?
     
  2. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #2
    you need libusb and irecovery.

    put ur phone in recovery mode, well i guess it already will be.
    type in the codes exactly as i do, when i start a new line, you start a new line. dont worry about the characters it already puts there.

    iRecovery -s

    printenv

    setenv auto-boot true

    saveenv

    reboot



    now your done, you phone should boot up. good luck.
     
  3. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #3
    You have to be in the directory containing iRecovery and libusb (or have them in your paths file) when you run these commands. For instance, if you have them on your desktop, you would use

    Code:
    cd /users/[UserName]/Desktop/
    to switch to the desktop folder, then run the following commands in order:

    Code:
    iRecovery -s
    
    printenv
    
    setenv auto-boot true
    
    saveenv
    
    reboot
    If you get an error saying that you need libusb, you will have to find and install a version compatible with Snow Leopard.
     
  4. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #4
    ok I got it to work I am on the latest 05.12.01 i upgraded to 3.1.3 lost my jailbreak, I tried the method set out in modmyi about downgrading, did not work, 2nd time it worked but no service... I re did the process and my phone was stuck in recovery mode.. no problems when i re-did it to 3.1.3... and again while waiting for a response i kept it back at 3.1.3 until I read this post THANKS to you guys and I managed to point it to desktop and get it working... I wonder why such important info is often left out in instructions.. so anyways its back to 3.1.2 now and there is service. I am going to try to jailbreak it, I am assuming there wouldnt be a problem I will update is there is...

    THANKS AGAIN
     
  5. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    It is assumed that if you are using command line tools you know the basics of using a POSIX command prompt.
     
  6. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #6
    i am good at following instructions that is about it... oh btw i managed to knock it down to 3.1.2 but if i use pwnage tool to jailbreak I lose service... no 2 ways about it... so I am assuming i am missing something again haha but at least I have it down and i shall see what u guys say and proceed from there THANKS again
     
  7. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #7
    use blackra1n or redsn0w, preferably blackra1n cuz its faster.
     
  8. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #8
    You need to use expert mode and deselect the "Activate" checkbox (this feature is used to hacktivate your phone if you don't have an AT&T SIM). A hacktivated phone doesn't work with an AT&T SIM.

    You could also use Redsn0w, which does not require a restore. Be sure not to hacktivate it using Redsn0w, either, though.

    I would not recommend Blackra1n.
     
  9. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #9
    i dont use at&T, I am overseas and the phone comes factory unlocked via the provider...and I have used different SIM cards in there..

    any further advice ? How shall I proceed? :) THANKS !
     
  10. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #10
    You still need to make sure your phone is not hacktivated. An unlocked phone is the same as a locked phone with an official SIM, as far as activation goes.
     
  11. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #11
    ok thanks will try it now and see what happens

    UPDATE: ok great everything works fine I managed to get it working. THANKS
     
  12. ZenSurfer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    #12
    does not see iPhone

    so I followed all the steps in getting iRecovery up and running.
    I seem to be having the same problem with my 2G iphone. i have a 2G iphone in DFU mode . At long last I was able to find download and install iRecovery . had to get the libusb-0.1.4.dylib file from another location but was able to install that as well. After running iRecovery -s I got :

    iRecovery - Recovery Utility for 0x1281 and WTF.
    by wEsTbAeR-- and Tom3q

    Got USB
    No iPhone/iPod found.

    so I can't even proceed to try anything else :(

    what am I doing wrong? please help!
     
  13. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #13
    ok i lost my phone i got a new one today came preloaded wth 3.1.3 as expected i was trying to jailbreak it... and well i have to use irecoverybut I remember there was something I had to do which would prompt me for my user account password for the comp then I was able to continue with irecovery.. I forgot where I found that info... but anyone know what i am talking about......
     
  14. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #14
    I know i am missing something last time i did this I rem I had to enter my user password in command prompt to get it going:

    Jay-Daniels-MacBook-Pro:Desktop jdaniel$ /Users/jdaniel/Desktop/irecovery
    iRecovery - Recovery Utility
    by westbaer
    Thanks to pod2g, tom3q, planetbeing and geohot.

    ./iRecovery [args]
    -f <file> upload file.
    -r reset usb.
    -c "command" sends a single command.
    -s starts a shell.

    Jay-Daniels-MacBook-Pro:Desktop jdaniel$ iRecovery -s
    -bash: iRecovery: command not found
    Jay-Daniels-MacBook-Pro:Desktop jdaniel$


    anyone?
     
  15. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #16
    when i type and enter it tells me sorry
    LOL wtf and yes i tried it many times... 1 the cursor doesnt move or show i am typing when I type and then when i hit enter it tells me sorry hmmmmm
     
  16. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
  17. Ewan Hoozarmy macrumors regular

    Ewan Hoozarmy

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #18
    If it came preloaded with 3.1.3 then you can't jailbreak. Yet.
     
  18. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #19
    thanks we have gone past that question, now i am wondering how to get irecovery to work :)
     
  19. Swatowsky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    #20
    I have a different but similar question. When I try to start iRecovery it shows up for less than a second and then closes. I have libusb downloaded and I've tried everything else, I've even tried doing it on another computer but nothing works. Any suggestions of what I'm doing wrong?
     
  20. pixelated macrumors 6502a

    pixelated

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #21
    You don't 'start' irecovery. You use it by inputing commands through terminal.

    i played around with it the other day and there is so many resources out there telling you exactly how to use it. (including this thread)

    ...i often feel on MR:F that google is a massive secret and only i know of its existence. The truth is out there! in a very real and accessible way!
     
  21. otk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    #22
    what if irecovery does not give any response to any command, valid or not?
    (/exit and reboot seem to work though)
    (3gs 3.1.2)

    >irecovery.exe -s
    iRecovery - Recovery Utility
    by westbaer
    Thanks to pod2g, tom3q, planetbeing, geohot and posixninja.

    Found iPhone/iPod in Recovery mode


    =======================================
    ::
    :: iRain for n88ap, Copyright 2009, Apple Inc.
    ::
    :: BUILD_TAG: iBoot-636.66
    ::
    :: BUILD_STYLE: RELEASE
    ::
    :: USB_SERIAL_NUMBER: CPID:8920 CPRV:14 CPFM:03 SCEP:03 BDID:00 ECID:... IBFL:01 SRNM:[...]
    ::
    =======================================

    [FTL:MSG] Apple NAND Driver (AND) RO
    [NAND] Found Chip ID 0x29D5D7EC38 on FMI0:CE0
    [NAND] Found Chip ID 0x29D5D7EC38 on FMI0:CE1
    [NAND] Found Chip ID 0x29D5D7EC38 on FMI1:C8
    [NAND] Found Chip ID 0x29D5D7EC38 on FMI1:CE9
    [FTL:MSG] FIL_Init [OK]
    [FTL:MSG] BUF_Init [OK]
    [FTL:MSG] FPart Init [OK]
    read new style signature 0x43313133 (line:375)
    [FTL:MSG] VSVFL Register [OK]
    [FTL:MSG] VFL Init [OK]
    [FTL:MSG] VFL_Open [OK]
    [FTL:MSG] YAFTL Register [OK]
    yaFTL::YAFTL_Open(l:2630): CXT is not valid . Performing full NAND R/O restore ...
    [FTL:MSG] FTL_Open [OK]
    Boot Failure Count: 15 Panic Fail Cont: 0
    Entering recovery mode, starting command prompt
    ] printenv
    ] printenv auto-boot
    ] fsck you
    ] /exit
    Closing USB connection...
     
  22. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #23
    Looks like it worked, to me. That's exactly what I get with iRecovery. Try rebooting.

    Also, there are now several other ways to accomplish this, including recboot and TinyUmbrella.
     
  23. actionsauce macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    #24
    If TinyUmbrella doesnt kick out of recovery mode, would it even be worth it to try irecovery or recboot?

    How I got in this loop mess;
    3gs 3.1.3
    jailbreakme.com
    after jailbreak, I settings>general>reset>"erase all content and settings" (I shouldve done this first )
    stuck at apple boot loop

    Had no luck with TinyUmbrella. I also tried a custom 4.0.2 ipsw with pwnage and got nailed with 1604/1600 errors on 3 different computers.
     
  24. actionsauce macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    #25
    scratch recboot off the list. Didnt work either.
     

Share This Page