Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

OrlandoTragic

macrumors 68000
Original poster
May 13, 2007
Orlando, FL
You know what I'm talking about... turning your phone's display on after it switches off, and you can BARELY see the screen because the brightness is turned down.

Turning the screen off/on again fixes it, but its still really annoying, and its happening more frequently.

Is this a known issue in Apple's eyes? Hopefully it'll be fixed in 3.1, its maddening.

fireman13

macrumors 6502
Aug 12, 2008
Florida Panhandle
i'm sorry, this is my first time hearing about this. Maybe i've been out of the loop. Is this happening to 3GS phones or is this a software issue with 3.0.1

BlownJetta

macrumors member
Jun 19, 2009
Stow, OH
This also happens to mine occasionally, I am running 3.0.1 on the 3GS. Hoping it is just a software bug and it will be fixed in 3.1... that is if Apple even knows about it.

Small White Car

macrumors G4
Aug 29, 2006
Washington DC
I've probably used at least 20 people's iPhones over the last 2 years. I've never seen this happen.

I'm not saying it didn't happen to you, but I suspect it's very rare, and probably something to do with one of the sensors in your phone, not the software.

-aggie-

macrumors P6
Jun 19, 2009
Where bunnies are welcome.
I've never seen this either. And I'm not sure what you mean by the brightness is turned down. Is that because you have it down, or does it open like it's dim and then brightens up once you touch it? It could be a sensor issue. Have you tried a DFU restore?

AbSoluTc

Suspended
Sep 21, 2008
You know what I'm talking about... turning your phone's display on after it switches off, and you can BARELY see the screen because the brightness is turned down.

Turning the screen off/on again fixes it, but its still really annoying, and its happening more frequently.