So BF3 plays well on Rmbp, but what about Bf4?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by yabot, Sep 17, 2013.

  1. yabot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    #1
  2. fatlardo macrumors 6502

    fatlardo

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #2
    Just wondering how hot does ur comp get in Celsius?
     
  3. yabot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    #3

    i have a speck matte case on both the bottom and top, and have it on a flat glass surface but i'd say between 75 & 85 degrees, although i can't really monitor it on bootcamp when im playing.
     
  4. yabot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    #4
    no ones got any opinions on this or plays bf?
     
  5. Atomic Walrus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #5
    There's nothing for anyone to say on this subject until the BF4 beta launches. No one here has played it (if they have they're under NDA as part of the current closed testing), and you can't extrapolate performance on various machines from system requirements.
     
  6. yabot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    #6
    yeah i know, just wanted to know what people thought, especially as the recommended graphics requirements are 3GB dgpu.
     
  7. Xgm541 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #7
    Probably poorly. I have tried to play BF3 on my rmbp in bootcamp and I cannot get a steady 60fps on noshahr canals on a 64 person map - settings all on low.
     
  8. yabot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    #8
    im running 1650 x 1200 i think? with all medium and effects on high, and am getting a steady 40fps even in hectic situations!
     
  9. VanillaCracker macrumors 68020

    VanillaCracker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #9
    Not sure where you got 3GB dedicated memory from, but it's basically the same requirements from battlefield 3.

    http://bf3blog.com/battlefield-3-system-requirements/

    http://bf4central.com/battlefield-4-system-requirements/

    Both "recommend" 1GB graphics memory. 500-600 level card.

    For minimum you need 512MB memory for battlefield 3 and 256MB memory for battlefield 4 :confused::confused:

    If anything, I'd say it'll be around the same. You may be getting 5-10 fps less at a very safe assumption. Maybe 0-5 FPS less. The rest you should wait for beta to find out
     
  10. Boe11 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    #10
    I've been wondering this as well. I expect - and hope - that it'll play. The open beta drops on the 1st, so we'll know soon enough.

    What ever happened to all that promising external GPU via thunderbolt stuff from a couple years ago?
     
  11. Ironsyde macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    #11
    Can't say for certain, but I'd be really surprised if it doesn't run at all. They didn't really do a massive update of visual component of Frostbite. Worst case scenario you'll have to run it at a lower resolution / low settings. That's my opinion, anyway.
     
  12. yabot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    #12
    the ones you found are EXPECTED requirements, not actual requirements, the actual requirements were released a few weeks ago or something, and i assure you, its recommended 3GB of graphics memory.
     
  13. yabot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
  14. VanillaCracker macrumors 68020

    VanillaCracker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #14
    Oh damn dude. Yeah you're fu**ed :p

    Na minimum is still 512MB though, you'll probably be able to play bare minimum - medium level graphics. Might be fishing around 30-35 FPS though (not sure how satiable the low-high end action scenes are in that game. You said 40 FPS in the heaviest situations though. So I'd guess that's like 40-60 FPS. In which case I'd say you'd probably be getting 25-50 FPS in BF4 (or possibly 30-50 FPS). That's a conservative estimate. Could be better.

    If the minimum is still 512MB but recommended was bumped a lot, then it means you can still turn off shading and such that will make it much easier to run

    ~And of course, low would probably run stellar~
     
  15. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #15
    so somebody can tell me how many fps you have and on what settings?
    thank you
     
  16. yabot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    #16
    i run mine on 1650x1050 i think, with effects on high and a few others, and some others on medium/low, x4 AA.

    I'd say i get a solid fps of between 35-45fps. it never seems to lag or slow down even in metro when everyones going nuts.
     

Share This Page