So...Can you mix/match official multitasking with Backgrounder from Cydia?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by tctony, Jul 10, 2010.

1. tctony macrumors 6502a

tctony

I have yet to update to iOS 4, and the white i4s are not available, so I have no hands on experience with it. But bear with me.

I don't have any problems with how I understand Apple has implemented multitasking, allowing apps to use less resources etc. However, I don't like a.) the interface and b.) the quick launch tray.

The thing I like about backgrounder, is that I only want an app to run in the background if I tell it to. With Apple's implementation, if it is supported, it is automatically done AND every app is added to the quick tray, regardless of backgrounding state.

Is there a way to combine the two, and perhaps use Kirikae instead of Apple's quick tray? By "combine" I mean, only induce multitasking/backgrounding if I want to (by, for example, holding down the home button)?

Also, kind of related, kind of not, is there anyway to get the iPod popup controls back on iOS 4?

2. scirica macrumors 68020

scirica

I've had the same thoughts. While I also applaud Apple for their inclusion of backgrounding, I would like to say which apps and when. I'd be happy with using backgrounder to control how apps behave (on my terms) and have the backgrounded apps show up in the quick tray (which I kind of like so far).

The compatibility matrix says that Backgrounder does work on OS 4.0, so I may play around some to see if I can prevent some apps from backgrounding automatically.

3. Arisian macrumors 68000

Arisian

please report back on this. Would love to know for when I have iOS4 up and running. I agree with the OP the annoyance of having EVERY single app ending up in the background. Seems like a poor design actually.

4. TSX macrumors 68030

TSX