Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

chrono1081

macrumors G3
Original poster
Jan 26, 2008
Isla Nublar
So this semester I have a multimedia programming class. For some reason my school is psycho and likes to stick Direct X and OpenGL in the same class :eek:

Anyway I got my Direct X and OpenGL books and I started learning OpenGL (naturally I'm on a mac) and I'm having a ball with it until the syllabus became available today. It looks like the class is Direct X only with only reading done about OpenGL :mad: I'm really really disappointed since there is no way to program in Direct X on a Mac so I'll be stuck booted into Windows all semester since DirectX doesn't play nice in VMWare.

Anyway I'm sad and I'm going to go pout now : P I hope everyone had a great Christmas and I'm going to try to finish my OpenGL Superbible before class starts on Jan 3rd :D

larswik

macrumors 68000
Sep 8, 2006
I feel your pain. I am learning C from a great book but signed up at a city college to take the C class so I can move on to Objc-C. Before I can even take the C programming class I have to take the Programming fundamentals class that teaches you Turbo Pascal. No such luck running that program on a Mac.

-Lars

Matthew Yohe

macrumors 68020
Oct 12, 2006
I feel your pain. I am learning C from a great book but signed up at a city college to take the C class so I can move on to Objc-C. Before I can even take the C programming class I have to take the Programming fundamentals class that teaches you Turbo Pascal. No such luck running that program on a Mac.

-Lars

Jesus, are you serious? That's terrible. Who is teaching Turbo Pascal today?!

I'd think you could just use GNU Pascal and get away with it by the way... http://www.microbizz.nl/gpc.html

You can compile on your Mac and use the XCode IDE.

TreborM

macrumors member
Jun 26, 2010
More optimistic