So...Does nMP run XPlane 10 at max settings?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by caneman, Dec 20, 2013.

  1. caneman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    #1
    Yes, yes ... I know, not meant for gaming. But ... someone has to load up a few games (xplane preferably) and tell us what kind of fps this beast puts out.
     
  2. Derpage Suspended

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #2
    Not sure where Mr. Bazu got his info, but it's only pushing 58 FPS in Diablo3 which is hardly an intensive game on cpu or gpu.
     
  3. Alchemist macrumors regular

    Alchemist

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    It'll be interesting to see, but there's absolutely no way the Mac Pro will run X-Plane at maximum settings. Depending on how the GPU's shape up for games (yet to be known really) it may run it pretty darn well, but X-Plane will outperform pretty much anything in terms of desire for horsepower.

    It's almost limitless in it's demands. Good frame rate? Just keep cranking the settings up and eventually any computer will bend. To some extent that's the nature of true open-world games such as high-end sims.

    That all said, I'm still keen to see!
     
  4. caneman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    #4
    Interesting stat on the Diablo 3 ... and also very true about xplane. Would be nice however to see something in the 50-60 fps with payware aircraft and airports.
     
  5. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #5
    Actually it's somewhat intensive on GPU, but I do doubt that it's anywhere near that low on the D700.
     
  6. Bazu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    #6
  7. caneman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    #7
    Helpful article ... I'm a flight enthusiast so don't know if 58 and 86 are "good" or "ok". When you spec out a Falcon with dual Titans, it's pricer than a similar nMP spec with dual 700's. Not a windows fan, so still very tempted by the nMP.
     
  8. Bazu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    #8
    Well I am in graphic design industry but I do also like play games. Mostly SC2, WoW or D3. What I'd expect is FP D500 (one i ordered) have similar performance to FP W7000 in those games. But so far it looks like on paper it has better specs but in real games usage it is worse.
     
  9. elvisizer, Dec 20, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2013

    elvisizer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose
    #9
    only using a single gpu in games, maybe?
    also, the diablo result being so close to 60fps could mean accidental vsync or something silly like that.
     
  10. caneman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    #10
    Drivers?
     
  11. Bazu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    #11
    Here you go.
    Looks like D700 is same performance in games as 780M. So predictions D700 is some sort of W9000 were bit off. D500 will probably be somewhere near 770M or worse :(.
    http://reviews.cnet.com/desktops/apple-imac-2013/4505-3118_7-35827456-2.html

    Check data for 760M.
    http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-760M.92068.0.html

    Also check W7000 or W9000 performance in games. It doesn't look like any of new D's
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/workstation-graphics-card-gaming,3425-15.html
     
  12. Brandon263 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Location:
    Beaumont, CA
    #12
  13. elvisizer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose
    #13
    don't overreact to one hastily published result, bazu. details will come soon and then we'll know what's up. right now we hardly know anything about what's behind the numbers.
     
  14. caneman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    #14
    That's not good ... makes the argument for getting a maxed iMac instead if it can't beat the 780M
     
  15. Derpage, Dec 20, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2013

    Derpage Suspended

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #15
    It's hardly intensive when you compare it to the likes of Metro Last Night or Witcher 2, however, it's pretty gpu intensive compared to uh, Angry Birds.
     
  16. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #16
  17. Bazu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    #17
    2560x1440
     
  18. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #18
    Not impressive for twin cards but the drivers are no doubt miles away from being optimised for OSX properly. Bootcamp will give a much better yardstick of what they can do running games.
     
  19. Bazu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    #19
    Not trying to overact. Trying to find out how those numbers compare. You must admit that so far those don't look promising.
     
  20. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #20
    With very early OSX drivers optimised for workstation use it's understandable. Though I only know a couple of mac gamers that play on OSX, the rest nearly all boot Windows to play.
     
  21. caneman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    #21
    Even without crossfire ... with also think the duals would run faster. Has bootcamp been confirmed? I would think that might help considerably.
     
  22. elvisizer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose
    #22
    well, given that insane fcp.co video showing a nMP playing redcode 8:1 4k footage with 18 effects in realtime, I'd say gaming results that equal other single gpu systems are a good indicator that the games are only using one gpu-- an iMac can't do what's in that fcp.co video. so lets wait and see what barefeats and anandtech have to say.

    also, 'overreact' was a poor choice of words on my part. sorry about that. just meant we really don't have enough info to be drawing any conclusions like "the nMP sucks for gaming" yet.
     
  23. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #23
    Here's Diablo 3 being run at High settings on plenty of different cards at 2560x1600.
    http://www.techspot.com/review/532-diablo-3-performance/page4.html

    I think there's some driver, or firmware issues with the AMD cards at the moment. The AMD Mac 7950 didn't do well either when released.

    In that review the old 5870 is faster than the D700.
     
  24. Bazu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    #24
    Yes the 4k footage with 18 effects was stunningly impressive. Not really working with videos, more photography, design, 3d. But still impressive.

    Why I am rushing for more information on those reviews is that I still can cancel order if I find nMP won't really fit my way of use and reconsider maxed out iMac with 2013 tax write off. Because of so late release Apple didn't really leave much space for decisions if you want get it in this fiscal year.
     
  25. Bazu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    #25
    Small testing of D3 on my early 2013 rMBP with 650M under OS X Mavericks.

    Maxed out 1920x1080: 25-30FPS
    Probably going to be like 20 - 25 FPS if ran on 2560x1440 screen.

    Now don't know what to say when compared to CNET nMP results for D700
     

Share This Page