So does running your battery down close to the end hurt your iphone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by The Game 161, Mar 25, 2011.

1. The Game 161 macrumors G5

The Game 161

Some have mentioned that when you get just below 20% you should charge your phone up.

So letting your phone go down to 5-10% is a big no no?

2. gpc17 macrumors regular

3. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

Interstella5555

Some have said a lot of things, most of them untrue.

4. Jumpman2033 macrumors regular

I wouldn't think running it low would hurt. The only thing that may would be killing it often. I look at draining the battery completely like doing a hard shut off (like pressing and holding a computer's power button when it freezes). Once in a while not a big deal, but shouldn't be normal practice.

Just my thoughts though, and i am by no means an expert.

5. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

From all that I've read, regardless of the battery technology. Deep drains seem to hasten a batteries demise. That is deep drains shorten the potential life span.

My purely unscientific research seems to bear this out. My wife who has a habit of donig just that seems to have battery issues with it not holding a charge as long as it used too. This seems to occur about a year of usage, where as my phones where I try to keep topped off most of the time where its feasible perform better.

6. jacollins macrumors 6502a

The battery's lithium-ion. Lithium-ion batteries don't like being completely drained (will kill them dead fast) and like being topped off.

That said, every manufacturer knows Lithium-ion has problems when they are drained completely, and has hardware in place so you can't drain it through use. 20% is really like 25%. But you can't use that last 5%. You can still damage it if you take it down low and then leave it for a month uncharged though.

7. Asha'man macrumors newbie

Asha'man

There are 3 things that shorten the lifespan of your battery:
    1. draining it