So how about this situation.....advice?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by edcoche, Nov 4, 2007.

1. edcoche macrumors regular

edcoche

Sorry this is a little longer than I wanted, but please hear me out.....

I have decided to buy my 1st Mac and I want to go with the Macbook (dont know which color yet.) I am really hoping that I like it. If I get it I would want a bigger HD and more ram. Thing is, if I customize it then I will have no chance at returning it in the event of me not liking it. I have very little experience with macs so I am a little intimidated, but I am also very intrigued about a new interface and a new way of interacting with the machine. I have been using Windows for 15 years and I am quite proficient with it--but bored with them, and wanting something new. I used to build PC's and I know a lot about them that typical windows users do not know. Anyways, so if I buy a mac I would have a lot of learning to do (I'm ok w/ that.)

So, what I am thinking about doing is buying a non-customized macbook and use it for about a week and see what I think about it (I got 14 days, right?). I really, really want to like it and I think that I will-I know people who have been very happy with their decision to go Mac. That way I can return it if I end up not liking the product (less 10% right?) And If I decide to keep it, then I will manually upgrade the HD and RAM. I'd get 4 GB of ram, and I think a 200gb 7200rpm HD. Is 7200 really a good idea? heat issues?

How hard is it doing these two tasks? I know the RAM will be easy but is the HD easy to install? I never have built a notebook before. I have read that changing a HD will not void the warranty (this true?) Will apple send Leopard install disks with the purchase of a new macbook? Will switching HD's and reinstalling Leopard be easy? I would imagine so but I am new macs and have no experience with them, a position that I am not used to being in when dealing with computers.