So how does Fable run on a PowerBook G4

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by rj-300zx, Jul 19, 2009.

  1. rj-300zx macrumors regular

    rj-300zx

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #1
    I haven't found a demo so I'm curious how it runs. I'm using the system in my sig.

    Thanks a ton!

    -RJ
     
  2. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #2
    That was my laptop during development of the title. You are on min spec using that laptop (the only G4 that is compatible) but if you accept you will be playing with the low end settings and resolution I have completed the game quite a few times on the same spec machine.

    The game never had a demo (XBox, PC or Mac) so that is why you will not have found one.

    Cheers,

    Edwin

    DISCLOSURE - I was the producer on Fable for Mac and I still work for Feral Interactive. So I do have a slight bias ;-)
     
  3. rj-300zx thread starter macrumors regular

    rj-300zx

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #3
    Yea I'm aware that it is a low end machine for the game. You guys at Feral seem pretty good about making things run good though. Colin McRae Rally Mac runs great with mid settings and 1280x856 resolution. I wouldn't really care if I had to lower the resolution and effects on the game though.

    Anyway thanks!

    -RJ
     
  4. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #4
    No probs :)

    I would recommend an external two button mouse with a scroll wheel. Anything less like a track pad can be very painful :) Possible but painful :)
     
  5. rj-300zx thread starter macrumors regular

    rj-300zx

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #5
    Oh yea for sure. Can't stand gaming with a trackpad.
     
  6. zp3dd4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
  7. rj-300zx thread starter macrumors regular

    rj-300zx

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #7
    As far as I know it hasn't been confirmed for either PC or Mac.
     
  8. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #8
    As it is an X-Box 360 exclusive and it was developed by Microsoft I would guess very slim.

    Edwin
     
  9. muldul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    West Sussex, England, UK
    #9
    I loved Fable 2 for the 360, and have been toying with the idea of getting the original Fable for my mac for a while. How much is it running for nowday?
     
  10. rj-300zx thread starter macrumors regular

    rj-300zx

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #10
    Still $50 dollars new but I see it go used for 15-25 bucks.
     
  11. rj-300zx thread starter macrumors regular

    rj-300zx

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #11
    I traded my 15" for a brand new 12" and its not unplayable but it is unenjoyable. Around 5-12fps on average. Really sucks as I was enjoying the game, oh well. Back to WoW and KOTOR.
     

Share This Page