So I am making the MBP jump.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gopens, Apr 25, 2011.

1. gopens macrumors newbie

I have been dealing with Windows for a very long time. I never saw the reason to pay 2-3 times more for the same specs on a Mac. Well I am tired of my Windows machine crashing and have to do full system reboots.

I am thinking of the MBP 13". I really want a 15" but can't really justify the extra 600 bucks right now. As a student, I can get the entry level 13" for 1099.00.

I hope the entry level would be just fine for me. I use Microsoft Office and will do some minor video editing. Oh and tons of basic web browsing. Whats your thought? Will the entry be just fine for me?

Another question I have is the 13" keyboard the same size as the 15"? Also is the track pad the same size on the 13" and 15" I have a Windows 11" netbook and the trackpad is so TINY.

Thanks

2. alust2013 macrumors 601

alust2013

The 13" base is easily enough for your needs. The keyboard and trackpad are all the same size on the 13, 15 and 17 models.

3. Alaerian Guest

Alaerian

Honestly, a MBP is overkill. Save the money and get a MacBook.

4. alust2013 macrumors 601

alust2013

I'd say the MacBook is a giant rip off at the moment. It would only be $150 cheaper with the edu discount, and it has a processor that is 2 generations older, half the RAM (2GB is pretty weak these days), and a smaller hard drive, with less I/O. MBP is definitely a better deal

5. mr.steevo macrumors 65816

mr.steevo

Only consider a Macbook after it is refreshed with i5 and i7 chips.

6. Starfox macrumors regular

You just answered yourself, that's what the higher margin's for.

7. polbit macrumors 6502

polbit

MBP 13" for $1100 is a much better deal than the old-design MB for $950 - double the ram, i5 CPU, Sandy Bridge, bigger HD, much nicer case, thunderbolt, better camera, etc., etc., etc. Frankly, Apple needs to either discontinue or update MB, there is no place for it in the line up otherwise.