So I bought a Gen '08 MBP a month ago.. White blotch

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rcm431, Sep 29, 2008.

1. rcm431 macrumors newbie

Hi there,

So like the subject of the post says, I dropped the 3 grand and bought a new 17" MBP about a month ago. This is my first Apple laptop and have fallen in love with it.. except for one thing..

I'm an Engineering student and am always on my computer. I take it to class, I use it all the time. Over the past month I've noticed a white blotch towards the bottom right corner of my screen, more so in the middle than anything. It has grown over this period of a month.

It has gotten to the point now where it is actually bothersome at times depending on the color and contrast of the background that is being displayed.

Included are some pictures I took... (I apologize for the horrible quality, camera phone).

I tried to find an email for Apple tech support but apparently unless you use Apple Photo or have an iPod this is nonexistent.

Attached Files:

2. Firanide macrumors member

If you did indeed buy it a month ago, you're still covered under a 90-day complimentary AppleCare phone support.

If you're not completely sure, check your warranty.

If you're still under AppleCare support, give them a call and they'll be able to guide you through the necessary course of action. If possible, try to take it to the nearest Apple store, since you should be covered under Apple's 1-year parts & labour warranty. In this case, I figure they would fix it since it seems to be a large affected area, but I couldn't say for certain.

Edit: Actually, I just looked at the pictures again. I don't know if they would fix that since it's not technically dead pixels or anything...but still give it a try.

3. rcm431 thread starter macrumors newbie

I guess I can run it by the Apple store 20 miles down the road or so next week sometime. Was also just curious if it has happened to anybody else... Was very strange...