So i got my 4,1..

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SimonUK5, Jun 27, 2014.

  1. SimonUK5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    #1
    wow.

    Its pretty god damn fast, coming from both a 1,1 and a Current Baseline MacMini.

    Currently doing some hand break work, but its taking 25% of the time that the 1,1 took to convert TV, i'm talking 2/3 minutes an episode.

    Will continue to update, once i have more time to get the music side of things and my interface all set up, spent most of the evening just moving data, not even setting Mavericks up.

    Specs however -

    3.2 Ghz Quad (upped from a 2.66 quad)
    16gb RAM
    GT120 (Will probably up at some point)

    And a 120Gb SSD, 2x 2TB in RAID (using Legit Apple RAID Card), and a blue ray burner.

    Wooo!
     
  2. Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    When you have the time, would you have a look at the CPU temp of your 3.2 quad whilst running HandBrake.
    IStat (free trial) will report the CPU Diode. Temperature Monitor (totally free) will show core temps.

    I'm just curious because I have the same CPU in my 4,1 and would like to see what temps others are seeing.
     
  3. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #3
    Congrats on your purchase and enjoy! Have a great weekend. Keep us posted too on the temps you're getting. :)
     
  4. SimonUK5 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    #4
    The fans weren't really spinning up at all when i was encoding last night. I couldn't hear the machine at all, it is super clean of dust and stuff though, i cleaned it all out last night.

    Out at work and using my Macbook Air, but i'll set off something bigger when i get home.
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    Agree that the 4,1 is very quite computer. In fact, my machine is too quite, so I decide to add 200 RPM to the fan speed to give it better cooling (especially for the north bridge). In my room, I can't hear anything that below 800RPM (the default is 600RPM) anyway.
     

Share This Page