So I have a 512mb intel HD 3000 ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by colour, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. colour, Jul 28, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2011

    colour macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #1
    Macbook Pro 2011 - 13" i7 8GB RAM (early 11)

    This is the first time I have noticed this but i have 512 mb of graphics memory
    all of a sudden instead of the 384 mb advertised ?

    This is the first time i have seen this, an explanation can be found here - http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3246
     
  2. JH4DC5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #2
    if you have 8gb of ram, then 512mb is allocated to your video ram. 4gb ram = 384 mb video ram.
     
  3. Kentochan macrumors 6502

    Kentochan

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #3
    And just to back up the evidence, I had 384MB on the Intel HD 3000 with the stock 4GB RAM, which went up to 512MB with 8GB of G.Skill RAM.
     
  4. Epic Xbox Revie macrumors 6502a

    Epic Xbox Revie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #4
    Yup, it's based on your RAM. If you upgrade from 4 to 8 your intel HD 3000 goes up to 512MB.
     
  5. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #5
    Not that it matters of course.

    The GPU isn't quick enough to process 512Mb of graphics data anyway.

    The 4870 (which is a MUCH faster GPU) had 512Mb and 1Gb barely made a difference to FPS!
     
  6. NZed macrumors 65816

    NZed

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Canada, Eh?
    #6
    If i remember correctly, you would get around 1-2 FPS more when gaming in some games.
     
  7. dsio macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Why would you expect 512MB more memory to give any performance gains with the same set of conditions and textures anyway?
     
  8. Young Spade macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Florida
    #8
    I don't think he did, but it's easy for someone who doesn't know the details to assume that more memory = better performance across the board.
     
  9. colour thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #9
    so it does nothing at all but change it from 384 to 512 in the "about this mac" section ?
     
  10. dsio macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    Well sort of, that amount in the "about this mac" section is the amount of shared memory that has been segregated for the GPU, so even if you're running apps that use 10GB of RAM, and you only have 8GB, and are thus swapping, that amount of RAM is untouchable and un-allocatable by the kernel, and the graphics card will never have it swapped out.

    Think about how slow an application runs when the machine is swapping (using hard disk space as virtual memory). Then imagine what that would do to 3D performance, if that several hundred MB of texture data held in graphics memory was swapped, and being read off your hard disk. It would completely cripple the 3D performance, which is why the machine is able to dedicate RAM for specific use in that fashion.

    In this particular practical sense, it effectively means nothing, as the likelihood of swapping with 8GB of RAM in a current video game is extremely low to begin with.
     
  11. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #11
    you have 512 mb because you have 8GB of ram. I just checked, mine is the same.

    That RAM is inaccessible for anything besides graphics processing, even if all the other ram is full. The computer will go to swap first.
     

Share This Page