so i installed Sims2 on my HD. why do i still need the disc?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by optimus prime, Dec 20, 2007.

  1. optimus prime macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #1
    i installed it on my computer (3gb's worth) like it said. to play i need the disc. why is that?


    edit:

    crap. sorry. wrong forum.
     
  2. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Copy protection. They do this in a misguided attempt to reduce piracy.
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    Well, Mr. Leader of the Autobots...

    Aspyr has decided to use this as their main method of copy protection and authentication.
     
  4. optimus prime thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #4
    then why would i have to install it on my comp?

    oh ok. nvm. thanks
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    Not all of the expansion content can fit on a single disc and it's much faster to run off of the hard drive.
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR

Share This Page