so i just got my iphone 3gs

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by hasek3139, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. hasek3139 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #1
    i got it from a frend who hasnt used it, i got it december 20th 2009

    i didnt activate any data plan, and on the att website it shows i have a 3gs


    but the $30 data plan isnt selected

    and every now and then a message on my phone will pop up and say "no cellular data plan subscribed" or somethign like tht

    so will i get charged for data?
     
  2. pintnight macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    #2
    If you registered/activated your iPhone with ATT with no data plan, you will get hit with a very big expensive bill if you do any data. It's way cheaper to pay the extra $30 a month.
     
  3. hasek3139 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #3
    well that kind of doesnt answer my question

    if i try to use the safari with out the wifi and the 3g turned off

    it says that i have to cellular data plan

    so i only uses wifi currently for any web surfing
     
  4. ste1164 macrumors 6502a

    ste1164

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    #4
    You might need to change your APN settings to AT&T's settings. I don't know what they are as i live in the UK
     
  5. jp70 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Palmdale, CA
    #5
    I'm surprised you haven't gotten a message already, but expect a text from AT&T saying your data plan isn't active (or accurate) and to avoid charges contact AT&T to correct this. Something like that. When the 3GS came out I gave my wife my 3G and took her sim card out of the original iPhone ($20 data). However, I got the message the next day.
     
  6. hasek3139 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #6
    yeah idk why they havent said anything to me

    i cant even connect to anything internet without wifi

    so im guessing i wont get any charges? (crosses fingers)
     
  7. hasek3139 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
  8. renewed macrumors 68040

    renewed

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    Bemalte Blumen duften nicht.
    #8
  9. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #9
    Why dont you call AT&T and find out the definitive answer to the question rather than just speculation on the internet.


    ATT will be able to tell you... within minutes
     
  10. renewed macrumors 68040

    renewed

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    Bemalte Blumen duften nicht.
    #10
    Because when they look up his account they will most likely notice his SIM is in an iPhone and require him to add the data plan.
     
  11. LIVEFRMNYC macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #11
    Even if you turn 3G off chances are some apps might be still using data via Edge. What apps do you have on it and are notifications turned on? Do you visit the app store on the phone?
     
  12. youngplaya0228 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #12
    Isn't that what he's trying to do??? Getting the data plan will fix the "No cellular data plan subscribed" problem and let him use 3G. That and he won't get slammed with a huge bill come next month.
     
  13. hasek3139 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #13
    thank you for that im glad you have common sense

    kudos to you :)
     
  14. hasek3139 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #14
    well i havent used any data using 3g

    i turned 3g OFF

    and only use internet with wifi

    and i have no data usage it says 0 lol
     
  15. hasek3139 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #15
    well notifications are off

    i always turn it off

    i tried visting sites on the edge network, but it wont connect and tells me i ned a data plan lol

    i only visit app store on wifi
     
  16. greygray macrumors 68000

    greygray

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

Share This Page