So I started to install Windows on my MBP...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by D-Love, Mar 12, 2009.

1. D-Love macrumors regular

And I put in the install disk and had my MBP boot from the disk.

The Windows install started and then started to think, this isn't the way to use boot camp I don't think - I better stop this. So I panic and power off the MBP when it was still installing Windows stuff from the blue screen. I do a search and find out that I can boot from my HD instead of disk by holding option. So I do that, eject the disk and everything seems to be fine.

I am wondering tho, is it? Are there leftover Windows files on my HD that I won't be able to get rid of unless I do a fresh install of OSX? I did go into Boot Camp assistant and started the partition only to decide not to do it. The Boot Camp partition is still there. Can I get rid of that until I decide to do it later(prolly with Windows 7 now)?

Sorry if this comes across as being a total noob - I just want to make sure nothing is F'd up. haha

2. SLC Flyfishing Suspended

SLC Flyfishing

Nothing is F'd up :p all you need to do is delete the windows partition and you're set!

I used bootcamp for a few weeks when I got my first macbook (bootcamp was a beta back then) I uninstalled windows after about 2 weeks because the Mac OS was such a breath of fresh air that I didn't like booting into windows anyway. I had Vista Ultimate.

Now bootcamp is only available in tandem with OS 10.5 on, and I'm still on 10.4.11 so it's no longer even an option for me, but I don't miss it.

SLC

3. D-Love thread starter macrumors regular

I got rid of it but it still shows up when I go into Disk Utility. Its labeled BOOTCAMP and shows here that it is still taking up 5.7 GB of space. The format is MS-DOS (FAT).