So, I'm the master of screwing myself.

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by OscarTheGrouch, Jun 23, 2009.

  1. OscarTheGrouch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Location:
    G' Vegas South Carolina
    #1
    I just sold my last Macbook (had 2). I needed something with a little better spec for the things that I do- and i cannot afford another macbook, or mb pro. I had intended on getting an HP (for the time being) from Costco that was on sale at a really good price- a price I was almost positive was good through the 30th of this month... well i sell my MB for a little less than I was wanting, but knew I had another 20 in my pocket to cover the difference...

    WRONG... I haul over to Costco, and the stupid computer I was wanting was no longer on sale...


    So here I am (at work) with money and no stupid computer..... I suck.

    F M L
     
  2. xboxer75010 macrumors 6502

    xboxer75010

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Location:
    Carrollton, TX
    #2
    What was it maybe you can find another one with similar specs.
     
  3. OscarTheGrouch thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Location:
    G' Vegas South Carolina
    #3
    HP G60. 2.0 AMD Processor (forget the spec, but its a dual core 2.1), Nvidia Geforce Graphics 256MB Dedicated + Shared, 3GB Ram, 320MB HD 16" 2yr warranty.

    Asus has a really nice specced machine for 615 at BestBuy, but I HATE Asus Keyboards
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    Specs =/= performance or usability

    Refurb from store.apple.com ?
     
  5. OscarTheGrouch thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Location:
    G' Vegas South Carolina
    #5
    550 budget.

    Costco has a refurb of the same machine on their website, however its only got a 1yr warranty, and im sitting on cash that i dont really want to put into a money order and mail to my bank (I live in SC and my bank is USAA in Texas)


    I'm also so disappointed that a post was deleted
     
  6. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #6


    This thread is worthless without pictures. :D
     
  7. abijnk macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    No kidding, I could use a few pointers, OP!

    That sucks, OP... But seriously, if you could get on the "screwing yourself" tips that would just be fantastic.
     
  8. ButtUglyJeff macrumors 6502a

    ButtUglyJeff

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    New York. The state, not the toilet.
    #8
    School just ended, so I'm sure you could save a few more months.......
     
  9. Sehnsucht macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #9
    Well, I was just poking around on Dell's website, and configured this Studio 15, just for the hell of it:

    • 15" 720p LED-backlit display
    • 3 GB RAM (800 MHz DDR2)
    • Intel Pentium 2.0 GHz
    • 320 GB hard drive (5,400 RPM)
    • 256 MB ATI Mobility Raedon
    • 8x slot-loading DVD drive

    $720 before tax and shipping. Might I add that I wouldn't touch HP with a 10-foot pole, but that's just me. :p

    WOAH! :eek: Just noticed the *1MB* cache on the Pentium T4200...
     
  10. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #10
    You're surprised by the 1MB cache? All processors have either 1 or 2MB L2 Cache nowadays, and seeing as how the Pentium is a fairly oldish processor, it's not surprising it'd be the one to have 1MB.
     
  11. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #11
  12. Sehnsucht macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #12
    Well, considering that my Core 2 Duo has 6MB...
     
  13. uberamd macrumors 68030

    uberamd

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Minnesota
  14. OscarTheGrouch thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Location:
    G' Vegas South Carolina
    #14
    See, I wont touch dell since back when I worked in computer distribution, I had a customer place an order for 200 computers with me. I asked why the large order. Apparently a customer of his decided they wanted 200 Dell laptops. more than 10% of them showed up DOA. I've always had decent luck with HP. I wound up just waiting a few days until I got paid and bought the computer at the slightly higher price.


    nope, already made my purchase, and quite happy with it .... not as happy as i would be with a Mac, but still happy.
     
  15. raygungirl macrumors member

    raygungirl

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona
    #15
    If it's affordable, I vote for the Asus. We have an Asus laptop and have been really, really impressed by it, especially for the price. (4GB ram and an Nvidia... 4800M, I think? with 512MB VRAM, for a little under $1000.)

    Although, it depends on what you want to do with it. Our laptop is a beast that's used as a desktop replacement mostly to play games and surf the internet.

    Good luck finding a replacement. :)
     

Share This Page