So, I'm thinking that this isn't a good benchmark for a rMBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Pipper99, Jul 18, 2012.

  1. Pipper99 macrumors 68000

    Pipper99

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #1
    I'm consistently getting these results on my rMBP. I erased my drive this morning and reinstalled Lion, and I was getting geek bench results over 10,000, and then this afternoon, my results have reverted back into the 4000 range. I've avoided download or installing my normal apps, and I've downloaded the software updates including the rMBP update.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #2
    This was mine right after I booted it up for the first time last night
     

    Attached Files:

  3. prfrma macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #3
    Maybe indexing or some other background process?
     
  4. HighEndMac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #4
    WOW and i thought 12209 was bad..... & I'm acually returning it due to a low score.
     
  5. FastEddiebags macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #5
    Is it a good idea to base performance on Geekbench?. Ive never really used it and if your rMBP is running fine, then don't worry about it. On the other hand, if you have noticed some issues then return it.
     
  6. Pipper99 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pipper99

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #6
    I ran geekbench subsequently because I started noticing performance issues, for example, when clicking the applications folder in the dock, the icons were slow to appear on the screen. As far as I can tell, Spotlight is finished indexing, and iStat Pro shows no runaway processes (I selected All Processes and sorted them with the most intensive at the top). Anyway, back it goes.
     
  7. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #7
    You should not be getting scores that low. The simple answer is to return it for a new one instead of wasting your time. There is no indexing going on in the screenshot that you've posted (you can tell by the spotlight icon). You did close all of other applications when you ran the tests, right?
     
  8. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    You're joking right? That score is within top 5. It beats my Mac pro.
     
  9. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #9
    I wished the downrate funktion was still there...
     
  10. erandall38 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    #10
    Any ideas on what could put this off?

    I saw this thread and ran it. Had safari, text edit, and coconut battery running. Came out at almost 11000.


    Then just tried again with everything but safari closed and it came in at 4500. No new downloads or anything.

    The second test was done about 30 min. after the first. My battery is at 1%, could that effect it?
     
  11. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #11
    really?:rolleyes:
     
  12. Slivortal macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #12
    This person's probably right. Perform a ps aux | more in Terminal (or open your "Activity Monitor" and look at processes) and see if anything's eating away at your CPU usage.
     
  13. pshifrin macrumors 6502

    pshifrin

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    #13
    I guess no one noticed this, in the screenshot he's running off battery! Plug in your laptop so the processor isn't in some kind of power save / turbo boost off mode.
     
  14. HighEndMac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #14
    Well yeah, but it's other reasons as well, like i feel that i have already fragged the SSD with my failed migrations and assed users due to bad migrations, iv reinstalled lion twice, just whole bunch of ish that a brand new computer should not have to go through. I also want ML preinstalled, I’m a perfectionist, it’s a curse.
     
  15. katmeef, Jul 19, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2012

    katmeef macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    #15
    Don't think the CPU goes into a reduced power mode when the machine is on battery. Not that I've ever noticed

    --
    Edit Just tested 2.6/8/512 and it does not go into a reduced power mode on battery.
    on AC 11918
    On battery 11983
     
  16. ugp macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
  17. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #17
    Except that you used 64-bit geek bench so you can't compare it to the 32-bit geek bench scores.
     
  18. joer80 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    #18
    I know when I unplug my rMBP, my frames per second in skyrim drop from 60 to 30, even with 100% battery left.

    I think it is downclocking on battery power..
     
  19. prfrma macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #19
  20. katmeef macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    #20
    Maybe the GPU but obviously not the CPU as I had slightly higher geek bench scores on battery. Is your machine using dGPU both on battery and on AC when playing the game?
     
  21. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #21
    so you screwed up setting up your computer and that's apples fault how?
     
  22. Southernboyj macrumors 68000

    Southernboyj

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    #22
    Yes.
     
  23. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #23
    i'm pretty sure it switches to the lowest power mode once it reaches a certain threshold (10 or 20%) by default. You have to change your power settings to always get full power.
     
  24. HighEndMac, Jul 19, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 19, 2012

    HighEndMac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #24
    Never said it was Apple's fault...
     
  25. ugp macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #25
    It was for reference since they are nearly the same system performance wise.

    Way to be an ass on a forum. Congrats.
     

Share This Page