So is it safe to install Sierra on a 5,1?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kenshin27, Sep 20, 2016.

  1. kenshin27 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    #1
    I have an Early 2009 MP that was a 4,1 but had been flashed to a 5,1 when I replaced the original procs w/2 x 3.33 GHz 6-cores. Am trying to figure out if I'm going to screw up my system if I upgrade to Sierra. Originally I found this:

    http://create.pro/blog/macos-sierra-tested-working-200920102012-mac-pro-51-good-go-apples-latest-os/

    Which seemed to give an all clear. But then I also ran into this which was written a day later:

    http://www.macnn.com/articles/16/06...ems.for.the.aluminum.mac.pro.faithful.134675/

    Which seems to say that there are critical issues w/PCI-e expansion cards. Which would be problematic for me since I have two slotted in, a HighPoint RocketU 4-Port USB 3.0 and another one which just gives me a single eSata port. And I guess my AMD Radeon HD 7950 if that counts.

    Has anyone else out there w/a 5,1 that has PCI-e cards installed upgraded to Sierra yet? Any issues?
     
  2. Jedric, Sep 20, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2016

    Jedric macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    #2
    I have an early MP 2009 4,1 flashed to 5,1 with original GT 120 VC, updated to Sierra today straight from app store, so far so good.



     
  3. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #3
    Shouldn't ever upgrade without doing a full clone backup first.
     
  4. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #4
    I never upgrade until they get to a .3 or .4 release.
     
  5. kenshin27 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    #5
    Yeah that's what I'm doing now. Once that's done I'll give it a shot.
     
  6. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #6
    I updated my 5,1 earlier today. No problem. Not much of an improvement over El Cap 10.11.6 though. No better or worse. Identical performance. I don't care about Siri so I keep it disabled.

    So far my impressions regarding Sierra: much ado about nothing.
     
  7. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #7
    What about updates? Did you install this patch?: http://dosdude1.com/sierraswupatch/

    Source: http://dosdude1.com/sierrapatch.html

    I did not see macOS Sierra in my App-Store purchases on the Mac Pro, downloaded it with my Mac Mini 2012.
     
  8. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #8
  9. kenshin27 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    #9
    Well I just installed it w/no issues so far. Took about half an hour. Everything still working as hoped.
     
  10. AkuskaUK macrumors 6502

    AkuskaUK

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Location:
    Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
    #10
    Mac Pro 5,1 Upgraded with a MVC 770 and x5677's. Sierra running well here! It took a long time to boot after install, but its seems to be running well now.
     
  11. sammyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #11
    Mine is supported but it bricked my machine. 5,1. Sick of this crap and buying an iMac soon.
     
  12. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #12
    I've been running Sierra as my primary OS since PB4 on my 5,1 cMP. No issues with installation here. The beauty of the cMP, is that it can hold so many internal drives (I have 7 storage drives - 5 SSDs, 1 SSHD & 1HDD) that if one gets screwed up, you can reinitialize it and and copy a backup to it, and your good to go without missing a beat.

    Lou
     
  13. Sharky II macrumors 6502a

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #13
    I see no real incentive to upgrade for any 'pro' user at the moment - nearly all new features seem to be based on tighter integration with iOS devices etc.

    I use my Mac Pro (4,1 -> 5,1) in my studio, running Logic X all day and haven't heard of any single feature that would be useful for me (especially as I don't have wifi or Bluetooth 4.0 and have no real need for them).

    So ask yourself if you really will benefit from the upgrade/if you really need the potential headaches!

    Cheers,

    Ed
     
  14. Demigod Mac, Sep 23, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2016

    Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #14
    Going to make an attempt to clean-install Sierra on my 5,1 (Titan X) tomorrow.

    Anything my plan is missing?

    1. Create multiple backup clones of SSD boot drive / El Cap
    2. Create USB installer disk
    3. Boot into single user mode (cmd-S)
    4. nvram boot-args="nv_disable=1"
    5. reboot
    6. Option-boot from USB installer disk
    7. Erase SSD
    8. Install Sierra
    9. Install Nvidia web driver
    10. Reset NVRAM (cmd-option-P-R)
    11. Enable Nvidia web driver
    12. Reboot
     
  15. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #15
    Not sure what you have planned for this, but this is a great opportunity to do a "secure erase" that essentially TRIMs the entire drive, and frees all the garbage for reuse.

    A files system erase that repartitions or reformats the disk may not TRIM the disk.
     
  16. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #16
    I just upgraded my 2012 5,1 with a GTX980Ti from 10.11.6, after making a complete backup, of course. So far I haven't experienced any issues, but it is too soon to tell if it will be as stable as 10.11.6. Siri works great if you use that feature on other devices and the performance seems to be at least as good.
     
  17. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
  18. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #18
    It's an Accelsior E2, not sure if it needs it (cue debate about whether its onboard garbage collection does the job or not). ;)
     
  19. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #19
    This is a known issue. From Nvidia's web site:

    Lou
     
  20. developer13245 macrumors 6502

    developer13245

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #20
    Notice how Apple removed Mac App Store customer ratings and reviews for Sierra? Not a good sign.
     
  21. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #21
    It did have very high ratings right after it was released. Perhaps they tanked and they removed them? I have not had any issues (yet) but I have read reports of issues.
     
  22. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #22
    Working fine here. (Will be ordering dual 6-core CPUs soon.)
    cMP Sierra.png
    --- Post Merged, Sep 23, 2016 ---
    I noticed that the other day. Must've finally wanted to do something about those embarrassingly low ratings for mostly specific issues that don't affect the general user base.
     
  23. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #23
    AFAIK, yes, you still need it. GC and TRIM are two different technology to let the SSD works better, and they should work together.

    IMO, OWC marketing their SSD don't need TRIM, because when they introduce that SSD, there was no native way to active TRIM for their SSD, and they didn't provide any 3rd party software to do that as well. All their argument is BS, GC is GC, TRIM is TRIM, GC is no (and cannot) replace TRIM. They are misleading the customers.
     
  24. developer13245 macrumors 6502

    developer13245

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #24
    So can a developer that is forced to sell apps on Apple's captive iOS app store just eliminate low app "ratings for mostly specific issues that don't affect the general user base"?

    Didn't think so.

    Apple should have to play by the same rules as everyone else. But clearly they don't believe they need to.
    In Apple's twisted mind open customer feedback is good for software developed by other parties, but not Apple. It's a blatant double standard that they can get away with because of their position.

    Just Wow, this is where Apple has finally lost all ties to reality.
     
  25. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #25
    This is the part I have a problem with, yes. But it's not like Apple hasn't done this kind of thing many times before.
     

Share This Page