So is my HD Corrupt?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Gatorman, Feb 3, 2008.

  1. Gatorman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    Okay...so here's my situation.

    For the past few months I've had problems with Boot Camp. Originally, when I got my MBP, it worked terrifically!! But lately, I've had a setback. Whenver I want to boot into Windows for work or to play a game...I get a blank grey screen. Then my fans go on overdrive and it sounds like my MBP is about to take off! I do a manual shut down...try to turn it back on and reset the PRAM...nothing. If I manually shut it down and come back an hour later...boots up into OS X just fine. Now, as I've noticed in the last few days....it won't even restart! I'll restart it, and it just sits in limbo in that grey screen.

    So am I going to need to buy a new HD? Or am I missing something? All my software is up to date and I installed XP SP2. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #2
    well, when booted in MacOS you could just check the SMART status of your HD using DiskUtility.
     
  3. Gatorman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    Disk utility says that it's verified. So....is it a software thing?
     
  4. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #4
    i suppose so, a software or driver problem, obviously boot camp and Windows (what a surprise :eek:) is the problem. i don't use boot camp so i'm not sure if it's possible to re-install it without having to wipe the HD? isn't windows on a separate partition? if so, wipe and re-install.
     
  5. Gatorman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    Okay, thanks! I'll give that a shot. Yes, I've got it setup with Windows running on a separate 20 GB partition of my HD. So I wasn't sure if it was a software or a hardware problem. I posted over at Apple Discussions, too, and one guy told me that Apple replaced his HD. So, I figured I'd try here to...seeing as people seem to know more here and are more reliable!
     
  6. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #6
    ur wellcome. i aint sure its gonna help but its worth trying.
     
  7. bijou macrumors regular

    bijou

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #7
    FWIW Smart Status isn't always reliable for drive health. Back up your drive right away with CarbonCopyCloner and Winclone to an external drive, then try a reinstall. If it doesn't work, then you'll want to take it to Apple pronto (if under warranty) or replace the drive (out of warranty).
     
  8. Gatorman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    yeah....unfortunately, that didn't work out and I'm still at square one. :(
     
  9. Gatorman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    Unfortunately, it doesn't even like to restart now, with or without boot camp installed. I'll back it up as soon as I get it up and running again and look into new hard drives, since I'm no longer under warranty. Sigh. Thatnks for the input!
     
  10. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #10
    back up. wipe everything. get latest bootcamp. re-install MacOS and the rest after, my second advice would be to loose windows but i understand if its not an option.
     

Share This Page