So it has been awhile......itether

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by dukebound85, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #1
    So after some time since itether has been released and then pulled, has anyone with the application used it? If so, has ATT caught the usage and forced you into a different plan?

    I was lucky to get it but have been hesitant to use it as 1) haven't had a need yet and 2) feel uneasy about ATT catching it.
     
  2. countrydweller macrumors 6502

    countrydweller

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #2
    I've used it about 3 times, no extra charges yet. Didn't use massive amounts of data though. Wifi is available most places I go.
     
  3. Shawnpk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    I used it to download a movie from the iTunes Store. No messages from AT&T for me either. I'm guessing that if you use it continually and download major GBs, then they'll catch you.
     
  4. eli2k macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    #4
    I'm on Verizon and I downloaded some big files from filesonic through an app for the phone. On the first day I got downlink speeds of 150-200 KB/s. But the second day I tried to do something similar it throttled to 20 KB/s. Forgot to run a speedtest to see if it was the host or not, though.
     
  5. OceanView macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    #5
    Ive used it since it was available.
    Was out of town for the holidays and used about 2 GB with no issues.
    I did get a 5% warning message when I hit 2GB but no throttling down on my speed or any other messages.
     
  6. peapody macrumors 68040

    peapody

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    baltimore, md
    #6
    Haven't really needed to use it yet. It is still a nice safety net when I am on the road though.
     
  7. Doc750 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    #7
    Used it several times at the airport when my flight was delayed ... No warnings yet.
     
  8. jbrown macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Used it a bit in UK - all good.
    But I have found the computer program has been crashing of late ( after a few minutes now ). It was OK when I first got it.

    Does anyone know a fix for it?
    cheers
     
  9. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #9
    Be careful using the word throttled. There are many variables that affect throughput using your carrier's data network. Unless you're certain you were throttled then don't use the word. A slow host is not throttling. Coverage issues are not throttling. Tower congestion is not throttling. Etc etc.
     
  10. apollo1444 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    mexico
    #10
    Glad I don't live in the US, in my country internet thetering is part of your data plan :cool:
     
  11. turtle777 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    #11
    So ? You can get it in the US with AT&T, but you need to pay for it.
    Chances are, if it's included with your plan, you and everyone else is already paying for it. Your service provider doesn't give you that option out of the goodness of their hearts.

    -t
     
  12. apollo1444 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    mexico
    #12
    what do you mean so? you don't pay an extra fee like in the US... and no they don't already charge me for my hotspot data plan or secretly charge me for it because I've paid the exact same price for my data even before Personal Hotspot was avaliable...

    I've asked them and they say it's part of my 4GB data allowance...
     
  13. Mochi Hana macrumors 6502a

    Mochi Hana

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    So far I've used it once to try it out. I agree with peapody, it's a great safety net.
     
  14. turtle777 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    #14
    Just because they didn't raise prices doesn't mean it's not priced in.
    If they don't charge extra, EVERYBODY is paying for it. Your provider is not going to make a loss, so they will make a profit somehow.

    Look at it this way: with AT&T, you will pay LESS if you don't need tethering.
    That option doesn't exist with your provider. Every user that doesn't use tethering subsidizes those that do.

    -t
     
  15. Diiiiips macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    #15
    You do realise that US network prices are way more expensive than, say UK for example. T Mobile over here and Three didn't up their prices when Hotspot became available. With Three its included as part of their £15 a month tariff, 300mins 3000 texts and unlimited data.
     

Share This Page