So many to choose from...

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by SickSquirrel, Mar 9, 2016.

1. SickSquirrel macrumors newbie

I love my new iPhone 6S but sometimes it's bulky to carry. I began looking at the Apple Watch online last night. I understand 28mm is the size of the watch. The rest? I'm new to Apple so am confused which to choose.

I want to have a phone plus internet access. A calendar is fine but Notepad will work.

I know I'll need a charger and stand, a different band if I choose, and earphones. That it?

What specifically should I look for without tons of bells and whistles? I saw a refurbished $400 model for $329 but just because the price is right doesn't mean it has what I want

2. KST87 macrumors 6502

KST87

The watch sizes are 38mm and 42mm which is based on the actual screen size. It's weighs heavily on personal preferences. You will have to go in a store to try them on and decide. 38mm sport is 349, 42mm sport is 399, 38mm Stainless Steel is 549 and 42mm Stainless steel is 599. Are you a sport kind of person looking for a watch to match your phone or a more lavish one to go with just about everything. I think they all can be dressed up or down, you can choose from a wide assortment of 3rd party bands on EBay, Amazon or Alliexpress.

Apple Watches need your iPhone to work yes they can work via wifi but I have yet tried that. There is a thread or two one for females that are talking about bands and protection. Check out mixyourwatch.com

3. sam.mcneill macrumors newbie

All the watches are exactly the same on the inside regarding function, apps, processor power etc... So all you need to decide is 38mm or 42mm and which colour you like best.

4. Julien macrumors G3

Julien

Actually the 42mm has a larger battery and generally longer battery life. Also the 42mm has a higher resolution screen at 312x390 with the 38mm at 272x340.

Apple "...A 42mm Apple Watch typically experiences longer battery life...."
    http://www.apple.com/watch/battery.html