So my macbook is done...water damage

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by joedavis34, Dec 15, 2008.

1. joedavis34 macrumors regular

Took my macbook into an apple story yesterday and told me today there is "a lot of water damage" and my harddrive, logic board can go out at any time. My airport card, disc drive and fan have already gone on the fritz...

So I'm kinda screwed because I'm a poor college student and I'm probably buying at an awful time.

I can either get my computer gutted for 750 dollars (they said 2000 worth of repairs for a flat rate) or let it die and then get it gutted or a new computer.

I don't see the point in paying 750 for an obsolete computer (it's the first blackbook edition of the macbook that came out in the first half of '06). (1 gb ram, 80 gb HD, 2.0 ghz Core Duo processor)

I'm pretty sad because I bought this with my own money.

So what's the best route do you guys think? Getting it gutted and repaired for 750 or getting a new computer?

What kind of payment plans are out there that are the best? I saw on Apple Store website they have a Visa plan with no interest for a few months.

Any ideas?

2. heatmiser macrumors 68020

Never buy anything with a "payment plan". A $500 PC laptop >> monthly payments.

Personally, I'd use it until it broke, saving money and data constantly.

3. Vulcan macrumors 65816

Vulcan

Apple has refurb MacBooks that pop up in the refurb store from time to time for $799, snag one of those. You just have to keep checking.

4. Roadking macrumors 6502

Best Buy has a 18 month no interest option for purchases over $499. They had a sale a few weeks back on MacBooks, but if you have a local apple store nearby, bring a printed copy of the student price on the apple store website.

They will match it as long as you have a apple store close by.

You should be able to get the cheapest one for $950 and then get the 18 month no interest on the Best Buy credit card.