So new home button = cant access phone in armband

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Steviejobz, Sep 18, 2016.

  1. Steviejobz macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    SoCal
    #1
    When I run my phone is in an armband holder type thing. The screen works through the plastic but the touch ID does not. However without a button, I cannot get the phone to prompt me to input by security code. Is there a way to have one of the swipes (like swiping right) bring up the code rather than the camera?
     
  2. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #2
    Use the widgets or try to access the gallery, or use Siri.
     
  3. pojo1806 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    I know it's not ideal but maybe try to cut a circular hole in the plastic front? Other than that I don't know what else you can do.
     
  4. Steviejobz thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    SoCal
    #4
    Siri can unlock my phone? Can we get an unlock phone widget? That would solve the problem but to my knowledge these are not options that are available right now.
     
  5. morphodone macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    #5
    I posted a thread about this yesterday and one of the suggestions was to get an armband that supports Touch ID.
     
  6. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #6
    You can use Siri to launch apps, which will prompt you to input your password, or tapping a widget's header will prompt the app to open, unlocking the phone.

    If it's a 6s you can then use 3D Touch to get to the home screen.
     
  7. AppleWarMachine macrumors 65816

    AppleWarMachine

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    #7
    Apple wants you to buy the new iWatch to run with (and not use your phone) :D
     
  8. Steviejobz, Sep 19, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2016

    Steviejobz thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    SoCal
    #8
    It's a 7 plus. can you please elaborate on how to use 3D touch to get to the home screen? From the lock screen, can you use 3D touch and then phone will prompt you for the passcode?

    The Siri could work if I can launch Siri from my headphones since if in an armband i cant hold down the home button. Will need to test this.

    EDIT: so using Siri prompts you to enter passcode but then takes you to the app you requested. From that app, you cannot get back to the home screen using only Siri since you cannot physically press the home button. Cannot seem to get Siri to get me to my home screen
     
  9. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #9
    I'm saying you can launch an app through Siri to unlock the device (or choose it from a notification or widget), then 3D press on the lefthand side of the device to bring up the task switcher.
     
  10. Steviejobz thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    SoCal
    #10
    Oh, I thought the 3D press from left side was only from the home screen and not from within an app
     
  11. noobinator macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA

Share This Page