So the 13" cant run Finalcut?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Scorpia, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. Scorpia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
  2. Caris macrumors 6502a

    Caris

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
    #2
    I would be very, very suprised if it couldn't. It's a pretty powerful machine.
     
  3. Jiten macrumors 6502a

    Jiten

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #3
    If the Core2Duo 11 inch Macbook Air can run FCP rather well I can't see why a i5 Macbook Pro can't.
     
  4. forsakengod23 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #4
    http://www.apple.com/finalcutstudio/specs/

    Requirements to install all Final Cut Studio applications

    * Mac computer with an Intel processor
    * 1GB of RAM (2GB of RAM recommended when working with compressed HD and uncompressed SD sources; 4GB of RAM recommended when working with uncompressed HD sources)
    * ATI or NVIDIA graphics processor (integrated Intel graphics processors not supported)
     
  5. articcine macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Location:
    Lillehammer, Norway
    #5
    It is a powerful piece of art, so yeah it can ;) Not only express, but FCP.
     
  6. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #6
    Those requirements are from July 2009 when Final Cut had it's last major update and refer to the old Intel GMA 950 and X3100.

    Has it been officially confirmed that the new Intel HD 3000 graphics are not supported?
     
  7. forsakengod23 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #7

    It is still what is written on apple website, just check the link .

    The question would be more : has it been officially confirmed that the new intel hd 3000 graphics will be supported ?
     
  8. SlickShoes macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #8
    Also, not supported does not necessarily mean that it doesnt work.

    As another person has stated this is also from the days of the x3100 and GMA950 which were way below the performance of the current intel graphics on offer in the 13".

    I dont expect apple will even update the specs required for final cut until they bring out a new one.
     
  9. Oetam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    #9
    I had a thread about this going a few hours earlier.
    I it probably will work. FCP (almost) doesn't use the GPU at all. Only Motion and Color.
     

Share This Page