So! Where's the benefit of using a Macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Sizzler68, Jan 8, 2012.

1. Sizzler68, Jan 8, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2012

Sizzler68 macrumors newbie

Hi all,

This is my very first post about my very first mac machine, a late 2011 MBP with the 2.2 GHz Core i7 processor (2nd gen quad core), 512 MB Radeon 6750 video, 15" standard screen and 4 Gb of RAM. I've been a PC user for 25+ years and do a fair amount of photo editing and a moderate amount of graphic design for my secondary job as a photographer. My day job is as an IT tech. It would be awesome to get some honest, "proven" responses and not any personal "mac is better than pc" answers.

So, after using pcs all these years and deciding to "upgrade" my last pc-based laptop (a Gateway ID79C with core i7 1.67 GHz first-gen dual-core processor, 8 GB RAM, 5400 RPM HDD, 1 Gb Radeon 5650 vid card) and I chose to get a macbook pro.

I don't have an unlimited budget and after considerable research including talking with several mac techs and a guy at a mac store I thought this macbook pro would be at least a moderate step upwards in performance.

Well, I use Adobe PS CS5, Illustrator CS5, MS Excel, Adobe Acrobat a,d several external USB hard drives (photo storage/backup).

I am finding that I am spending as much time looking at that spinning "beach ball" as I ever did on my previous pc-based laptop (as specd above). Maybe I am doing something wrong or I am missing something but as of now (2 and a bit weeks of use on this macbook) I am feeling that I had traded $2200.00 CDN for a very nice looking BUT mediocre performing laptop. I could certainly have spent the money better with some additional photo lighting or gear and been frustrated NO more with my previous laptop than I am with this new macbook.