So who else has hit "reply-all" to a work email?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by glocke12, May 14, 2010.

1. glocke12 macrumors 6502a

glocke12

I work in a lab for a pharma company (see previous post of mine to describe what exactly its like to work for a pharma company), and had spent about two hours doing prepwork for an experiment that I had been waiting days to do and that many people were waiting to see the results.

It is a VERY busy lab with many people working in it, and as a result it gets rather cluttered very easily.

Today, one of the managers who hasnt had to step foot into a lab for years because she is a manager, took it upon herself to "de-clutter" the lab. The end result is that a portion of my experiment was ruined and some expensive reagents were wasted. I had to start over and the data is delayed causing trouble for me. Being under alot of stress and pressure already to get this data out, I was actually on the verge of tears when I realized what had happened.

After all this occured this woman sends out an email admonishing us all for being slobs, and she went on to brag extensively about how well she cleaned up. I wrote a reply to her giving an itemized detail of the cost of everything she thew out, and how much of a set back this was for me and the project I was on, and explained that the stuff of mine that was thrown out was not in the way, and was clearly marked and easily identifiable as not being trash.
    Instead of sending it only to her I sent it to "reply-all", which includes managers and directors, more or less as a way to make her look like an idiot. Might have been a mistake, but boy did that feel good!!

2. toolbox macrumors 68020

toolbox

Yep i have hit reply to all many times, it hasn't landed me in hot water.

but good on you for detailing your loss in data / productivity. The manager may have something to answer for!

3. Decrepit macrumors 65816

Decrepit