So Who Is Installing Yosemite On Their PowerPC?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by JohnnyH1012, Jul 24, 2014.

  1. JohnnyH1012 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #1
    Let's see how many people reply to tell me I am absolutely insane!
     
  2. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #2
    I'm not haha. Not even the icon pack, since I like old icons.
     
  3. SandboxGeneral Moderator emeritus

    SandboxGeneral

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #4
    I think that's why the OP mentioned being called insane. :)
     
  5. repentix macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    #5
    *Rabiz7 style on*
    Well I am going to try installing this on my quad overclocked to 3 GHZ tonight, as it is handling x86 emulation quite well and mountain lion is also running smoothly on my 7950.
    *Rabiz7 style off*

    just joking :)
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #6
    Make sure you get a picture of your logicboard! Especially capaciresistor P3 to P10!
     
  7. jrsx macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #7
    I'm running the beta of Yosemite on an emulator with changeable firmware under PPC Linux. Oh and I overclocked my CPU to 1.8 GHz. Yep. :eek:


    Didn't you hear? Apple's going back to PowerPC.

    Jokings :D
     
  8. JohnnyH1012 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #8
    You are absolutely spot on with that quote. I've spent quite a bit of time on /r/PowerPC on reddit, and that guy... I swear he is out of his mind. Not only are his claims outlandish, but he also seems to live in a world where PowerPCs are not only the past, but the future.:D
     
  9. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #9
    I'm running it right now on my old 512K Mac. It's not too shabby on the 512 x 384 bitmapped display. The translucency isn't working though--darn!
     
  10. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #10
    Well, actually, I have it on my G3, with BTW is the fastest if you delid and solder a jumper from A3 to B16, which enables the secret x86 emulation mode. The onboard graphics card couldn't handle it, so I converted the graphics slot to a PCI-E slot and stuck a r9 270X in. Then, I removed the onboard RAM slot and made a cable to plug my MacPro memory card and put 64GB in. Unfortunately, CHUD wouldn't run on my G3, so I'm stuck with a maximum of 32GB.
     
  11. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #11
    I don't think he's out of his mind. I think he's just one of those people that will never admit he's wrong and refuses to acknowledge anything that contradicts what he "knows" is right.

    If he believed in religion (maybe he does?) he'd be one of those mindless fanatics that justify their wrongs because of what they believe.

    ----------

    Hmmm…Can't be better than my PowerMacPro with the server class PowerPC chip dropped in! ;)
     
  12. vlark macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    #12
    You guys aren't old school enough! I'm running it in single-user mode on a C64 via my trusty 1530 Datassette Data Recorder on custom data cassettes I spliced together myself. Sure, the B&W Zenith I'm using for a display catches a bit of interference from the 300 baud modem I use to download updates, but man does Yosemite RAWK on this sweet little MOS Technology 6510 chip!

    Next project: Getting Mountain Lion to work on a Trash-80!
     
  13. SandboxGeneral Moderator emeritus

    SandboxGeneral

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  14. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
  15. joplinG5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    #15
    My Heathkit H-8 absolutely rocks Yosemite... and that's without using a monitor!
     
  16. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #16
    So... In addition to extolling the virtues of overclocking everything PPC, he also regularly posts crap on the "PC Master Race" subreddit, and has posted about cocaine and acid...

     
  17. spyguy10709 macrumors 6502a

    spyguy10709

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    One Infinite Loop, Cupertino CA
    #17
    http://www.reddit.com/user/rabidz7

    you're welcome, everyone.
     
  18. Intelligent macrumors 6502a

    Intelligent

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    #18
  19. JohnnyH1012 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #19
    It's people like him that make this community gre... oh wait, he doesn't. He's just fun to watch.
     
  20. harrymatic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #20
    Rabidz has got to be high 24/7, there really is no other explaination for this fantasy world he's living in.
     
  21. tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #21
    That's because you need a 512Ke! How could you expect Yosemite to run on 64K ROM's?

    I think Craig Federighi made it quite clear that 128K was the minimum at WWDC...
     
  22. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #22
    Wow... I can now Handoff documents to my Newton off my 512Ke... ;)
     
  23. JohnnyH1012 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #23
    You guys think you have it bad? I lost support for my 128K after Lion :mad:
     

Share This Page