So, who is the new MacBook really for?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by nStyle, Apr 27, 2015.

1. nStyle macrumors 65816

Like, really?

Am I missing something?

It's $1,299 for a very small laptop with a permanent keyboard attached that isn't very powerful at all and requires adapters out the @$$

Power users? No, because they already have a rMBP, and it's not even a powerful laptop.

Casual users? No, because it's priced out of their reach or they likely already have an Air and can live without the screen.

Apple addicts? This is the only category I can see actually buy one, but I can't see them recouping their R&D with sales to this demographic at all.

2. wolfie macrumors regular

How about some students.

Im a med student. The most taxing things I do to the laptop is open word, PDF files, and surf the net/mail.

Why would I want, or need a powerful computer. I throw it in my small bag, along with my other gear and I call it a day. The laptop is small, which is great for lectures where the fold out table infant of you isn't that big to begin with.

I haven't had any reason to buy an adapter yet (2 weeks now). I dropbox everything with my other mac desktop at home.

3. newellj macrumors 601

Yeah, a lot...

You missed people who travel, or people who need an OS X machine that is compact and/or lightweight and has a good display.

As far as pricing, if you compare Apples to Apples, the pricing is right in the ballpark.

As far as power, it's not intended to replace a 15" quad rMBP. For 99% of what 95% of users do every day, it has more than enough power.

I suspect the rMB is partly proof of concept. To the extent that it succeeds (see Steve Jobs quote below), we will see some or all of its design features spreading through the laptop lineup.

4. nStyle thread starter macrumors 65816