So, WiFi works now. An amusing story...

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by IzzyJG99, Jan 28, 2012.

  1. IzzyJG99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #1
    As some of you know there is a bit of a Wi-Fi issue in Lion. I was one of the poor fools who couldn't get a standing and working for any length of time connection to the net.

    So I gave up. Went back to 10.6. Read the boards. Talked to Apple. All that jazz.

    So my Airport Express, first generation, has for the past 6 months been flickering out on me. Constantly having to unplug it and plug it back in to get it working. Finally it was doing it every 2-3 hours. So I bricked it and ordered a new Airport Express. I even posted a thread on this forum asking if maybe getting a new one might fix the problem. Consensus was no.

    I set it up while still on 10.6 and couldn't get it to work. For some reason it wouldn't show up in Airport Utility. When it did and I ran the setup through it wouldn't stay connected to the cable modem. Rebooted, restarted...etc, etc. Randomly it just started to work. Great. Awesome.

    So I figured why not download 10.7.2 and see if having a new AEX worked. So I did yesterday. Let the installer sit in my Apps folder for a while. Building up the courage. Read up on any "hacks" or "fixes" to try. Yesterday I tried it and....

    ....Wi-Fi Works. The only thing I did was renew the lease inside Network Preferences. Maybe it was that. Maybe it was the new AEX. I reset my PRAM, too. Who knows what did it.

    But I am glad to be able to use Lion finally. For any curious investigators of this strange ailment some Macs are falling under I'll provide you with what firmware my Wi-Fi chip is running.

    Atheros 9280: 4.0.58.4-P2P

    Not sure if that's the same as what it was in 10.6.8, but there it is.
     
  2. SRLMJ23 macrumors 65816

    SRLMJ23

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    Good for you bro! Now you can finally experience Lion in all it's glory!
     
  3. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #3
    Wi-fi card firmware has absolutely nothing to do with the OS version. That's a hardware item, not an OS one.
     
  4. mainstay macrumors 6502

    mainstay

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Location:
    BC
    #4
    sounds to me like he already has.
     
  5. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #5
    Well, i'm not going to buy a new router just because Apple's new OS called Lion doesn't support my router, yet SL does?
     
  6. IzzyJG99 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #6
    If it is a strictly router problem? Then Apple needs to freakin' say so, you know? The irony is the times that I did talk to Apple the first thing out of their mouthes was "Have you purchased a new Airport? That could fix the problem." Very suspect.

    But in my experience with this situation it seems like it's a lot of small problems.

    But if it a router problem with chipsets, firmware and all that crap....

    Apple can easily fix that and six months out? Should. Now.
     

Share This Page