So will this thing ever slow down?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dloreski, May 8, 2010.

1. dloreski macrumors member

Hi everyone.
    I've been educating myself as much as I can on these forums before buying my first MBP 13 on Thursday.
    I use my computer for work, and when I turn it on, I need it to be ready to go.
    My latest PC was a Dell XPS M1330 running Windows Vista Home edition.
    Anything from booting up, to shutting down, to everything in between took forever to do.
    Everyone told me to buy Windows 7 for it. But to be honest, I've spent so much money on Windows PC's over the years, I decided to try a Mac.
    I'm shocked at how fast it boots and is ready to go, how fast it shuts down, and nothing lags on it like my PC.
    I could work my Windows PC, but I'm no expert and it's more a tool than a passion for me.
    So over the next 1-3 years, will this Mac become slower?
    - Dave

2. anotherarunan macrumors 6502

Maybe slightly - as your hard drive fills up it seems to slow down but its hardly noticeable. Also over time, future applications will tax your CPU slightly more so you may notice a slight slowdown - but it really will be so so small.

I've had my current mac for 2.5yrs+ and it's still going strong!

3. JoshGlzBrk macrumors 6502a

JoshGlzBrk

It's not really the actual hardware that slows down but all of the junk that accumulates as software. A lot of people who don't know what they are doing assume that since their computer has "slowed down" that it's time to buy a new one but the fact is reformatting and reinstalling windows, or even running spyware and virus scans will result in the computer returning to it's running state when you first got it.

There are less spyware and viruses that can get into mac osx but over time it may slow down like anything else but like any other "slow down" it's completely fixable.

4. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

ViciousShadow21