Software Activation Frustration

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by gfroman, Jun 23, 2009.

  1. gfroman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #1
    Don't know if anyone can help on this or not.

    I recently purchased a software called DXO Pro

    It is a RAW converter that does a lot of other great things like specific lens correction, batch processing, noise removal, etc.

    I received the Authorization Code after purchasing the software and entered it as advised.
    But instead of getting the software to activate, I get a window saying I have to manually validate and initiate the software.
    This window should not come up if I am connected to the internet. After this window comes up it basically quits.

    I contacted DXO and they cannot figure out why it will not work on my Mac PRO.

    Could there be some kind of protection on why my Mac Pro that will not allow the software to activate?

    Frustrated!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. gfroman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #2
    I have narrowed it down to the following :

    DXOOpticsPro5[440] *** can't copy from (null) to /Library/Application Support/PACE Anti-Piracy/License Files/OPv5_5.3.4_License.ilf
    DXOOpticsPro5[440] *** can't install license file: (null)

    Seems like my Mac Pro is not accepting the License File.
    Anyone have suggestions how to correct this Anti-Piracy issue on my Mac?
    Any suggestions?
    Thanks!
     
  3. Jimmys macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #3
    It might be a permission problem with the folder it is trying to write the license file try fixing permissions or manually changing the permissions on the folder.
     
  4. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #4
    You could create a new admin user, log on and install it as that user. I had to do the same with Photoshop once.
     
  5. compuwar macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #5
    Firewall software? Firewall? Admin perms? Disk space?
     
  6. absolut_mac macrumors 6502a

    absolut_mac

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #6
    I had the same problem with Kodak's ROC (Restoration of Color) plug-in. I emailed them and received a response within a day.

    The solution that Kodak emailed me entailed correcting the permissions in my "Users Shared Library" my main one - i.e. the one found in the Mac HD and NOT the others in your Home folder etc. All 3 had to be changed to read&write, and that did the trick.

    My feeling is that you would probably need to do the same to the folder where this program is installed.

    Good luck and let us know how it works out.
     
  7. dodgegb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    #7
    I'm having this issue to having just moved to a new Mac Pro from a PC. I'm a pro photographer and SERIOUSLY hacked off with DxO's support on this issue. It's a great product, and a key part of my workflow but I've been without it for two weeks now and it is just not good enough.

    It's particularly annoying that there isn't even a phone number to ring to escalate this.
     

Share This Page