Software Installation - PC vs Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iqwertyi, Jan 15, 2011.

  1. iqwertyi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #1
    Hello,

    I finally got an apple.
    27" iMac :D

    Anyway, I'm completely new to this and there are a lot of things different.
    Regarding software, how does one install a software?
    I downloaded handbrake and I see it under downloads and can run it from there, but how do I "install" it? I don't see it under my applications folder.

    With a PC, you typically download an .exe file. Double click that and it installs the software and you can now delete that .exe file you downloaded and you can find the installed program under "Programs".

    How does it work on a mac?
    Thanks
     
  2. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #2
    Look in your Downloads folder. You should have a .dmg file which expands and then lets you drag an app into the Applications folder – I know HandBrake for certain does this, as I just installed the newest version yesterday.
     
  3. iqwertyi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #3
    Wow, thanks for the super fast response.
    So, I see the .dmg file under Downloads, double-clicked that and I see a handbrake icon, dragged that over to Applications.

    That's it?
    lol
    That's definitely different than a pc. :)
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    That's it. Some apps come with an installer but most, especially small apps are just drag&drop
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Yes, thats it.

    Uninstalling is just as easy - dragging it to the trash

    Some applications, like Office, or photoshop or aperture, have their own installers which you generally want to run to uninstall if the need arises.
     
  6. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #6
    Some Applications on a Mac will download a dmg file (a disc image), then you double click on the dmg, a disc will appear on your desktop, and you will have either an installer or a file folder. Typically, the background in the DMG will tell you to drag the folder or application to your Application's folder, and they may have a short cut in the window, that you can drop the Application into and it will copy it to your Applications folder. Then you're done.

    TEG
     
  7. randomerratum macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    #7
    It's generally not that big of a deal, but for uninstalling, it's a good idea to use a program like App Cleaner (free).

    You just launch App Cleaner and drag the application file of the app you want to uninstall into the window and it searches your Mac for all the little extraneous log files, preference files and whatnot... not deleting these things isn't really that big of a deal, however occasionally it'll conflict if you want to reinstall a different version of the app later.
     
  8. bobr1952 macrumors 68020

    bobr1952

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    #8
    OS-X doesn't have a registry so complex entries to that very complex Windows database (complex to me anyway) are not needed--easy install, easy uninstall. :D
     
  9. iqwertyi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #9
    Now I see why OSX is cleaner and easier to manage.
    I've got a lot to learn.

    Off topic, how can I quickly minimize all windows?
    How can I maximize safari to fill the entire screen? Clicking on the "+" seems to maximize vertically but not the sides.

    Thanks again all!
     
  10. Mackilroy, Jan 15, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2011

    Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #10
    It's not minimize, but F11 will clear the screen of all windows.

    Maximizing doesn't work the same way under OS X – if you want a browser (or anything) to fill the screen you'll have to drag it. Chrome does offer a full-screen option, but it also prevents you from seeing anything else without command-tabbing or switching to another Space.
     
  11. iqwertyi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #11
    Thanks, I thought I was doing something wrong with maximizing the windows.
     
  12. Caleb531 macrumors 6502

    Caleb531

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #12
    You may also want to eject the disk image (.dmg) after installing the app (just drag it to the trash). Doing so will keep your desktop clean. :D
     
  13. Fubar1977 macrumors 6502a

    Fubar1977

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, UK
    #13
    If you want the green button to behave more like the maximise button in windows, try installing RightZoom.
    It makes windows maximise in the same way as windows does.
     

Share This Page