Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iqwertyi

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 9, 2007
Hello,

I finally got an apple.
27" iMac :D

Anyway, I'm completely new to this and there are a lot of things different.
Regarding software, how does one install a software?
I downloaded handbrake and I see it under downloads and can run it from there, but how do I "install" it? I don't see it under my applications folder.

With a PC, you typically download an .exe file. Double click that and it installs the software and you can now delete that .exe file you downloaded and you can find the installed program under "Programs".

How does it work on a mac?
Thanks

Mackilroy

macrumors 68040
Jun 29, 2006
Look in your Downloads folder. You should have a .dmg file which expands and then lets you drag an app into the Applications folder – I know HandBrake for certain does this, as I just installed the newest version yesterday.

iqwertyi

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 9, 2007
Wow, thanks for the super fast response.
So, I see the .dmg file under Downloads, double-clicked that and I see a handbrake icon, dragged that over to Applications.

That's it?
lol
That's definitely different than a pc. :)

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
Yes, thats it.

Uninstalling is just as easy - dragging it to the trash

Some applications, like Office, or photoshop or aperture, have their own installers which you generally want to run to uninstall if the need arises.

TEG

macrumors 604
Jan 21, 2002
Langley, Washington