Software Update Badly Broken

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MentalFabric, Nov 2, 2009.

1. MentalFabric macrumors 6502

MentalFabric

Hi All,

I'm a mostly mac sys admin. On many of our machines (mostly those that have had a user account migrated or previously were set to a now redundant software update server now return the networking error "timed out (-1001) " when software update is run.

I've tried resetting the software update server, deleting the caches/preferences, running every automation in Onyx and running SU through the terminal, but nothing seems to work.

I've manually upgraded these machines to 10.5.8, but how can I check which other updates they need without a functioning software update (or, how can i fix SU without creating a new account?)

Many thanks!

mentalfabric

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

All updates are published in MacRumors index page or in Page 2 if they are minor. Also, Apple's download page shows all updates

3. MentalFabric thread starter macrumors 6502

MentalFabric

Thanks, but what I really mean is, how do I know which updates I should take from Apple's download page to apply to these machines? Is there for instance a way I could run a system profile through some app or website?

btw I should mention I also use Apple Remote Desktop, if there's a way I can update using that app? (I've managed to update the ARDclient that way :p ) And we have a 10.5 xserve running software update server, to the machines that will accept it...

4. calderone macrumors 68040

calderone

I am guessing you have checked the CatalogURL in /Library/Preferences/com.apple.SoftwareUpdate? Is it correct?

Are you managing these machines with MCX?

What does:

Code:
    softwareupdate -l
    return?

You can update using ARD, but of course the problem is knowing what you need. If the above command works, try installing an update from there.

Have you check the logs, to see if you can get any more information from there?