Software Update failing in 10.11.1

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by wrldwzrd89, Oct 23, 2015.

  1. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #1
    Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 8.34.39 AM.png
    The picture says it all really... look at the sheet dialog. The Apple Software Update server isn't responding. D:
     
  2. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #2
    Leave to do something else, and retry later.
     
  3. wrldwzrd89 thread starter macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
  4. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #4
    No worries.
     
  5. loekf macrumors 6502

    loekf

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Location:
    Nijmegen, The Netherlands
    #5
    Problem still exists (Netherlands). Last night the update server was flaky as well.

    ping swupdate.apple.com returns zero return packets, so guess the server is down ?
     
  6. loekf macrumors 6502

    loekf

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Location:
    Nijmegen, The Netherlands
  7. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #7
    Uh, well. Probably.
    Maybe they just want to release new beta.
     
  8. tywebb13, Oct 23, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2015

    tywebb13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #8
    Possible fix

    I got the same message on mavericks.

    When I tried to load via safari https://swscan.apple.com/content/ca...ion-snowleopard-leopard.merged-1.sucatalog.gz (which is where mavericks updates come from) at first I got a message

    Http/1.1 Service Unavailable

    But then simply reloading the page the error disappeared and was replaced with the correct sucatalog information page.

    Furthermore after doing this, checking for updates in the mac app store worked again and I got no error message.

    So maybe this fixes it.

    To summarise: Load in safari. You get the error message. THEN RELOAD THE PAGE. All should be good again.

    So here are all the sucatalogs you need

    For El Capitan:

    https://swscan.apple.com/content/ca...ion-snowleopard-leopard.merged-1.sucatalog.gz

    For Yosemite:

    https://swscan.apple.com/content/ca...ion-snowleopard-leopard.merged-1.sucatalog.gz

    For Mavericks:

    https://swscan.apple.com/content/ca...ion-snowleopard-leopard.merged-1.sucatalog.gz

    I also tested the ones for tiger, leopard, snow leopard, lion and mountain lion, but they don't give the error, so no need for the sucatalog reload fix for those.

    And I tested the panther one and strangely that one DID give the error message. My reload trick fixed that one too.

    Here are the catalogs for reference in case they become affected anyway:

    For Mountain Lion:

    http://swscan.apple.com/content/cat...ion-snowleopard-leopard.merged-1.sucatalog.gz

    For Lion:

    http://swscan.apple.com/content/catalogs/others/index-lion-snowleopard-leopard.merged-1.sucatalog.gz

    For Snow Leopard:

    http://swscan.apple.com/content/catalogs/others/index-leopard-snowleopard.merged-1.sucatalog.gz

    For Leopard:

    http://swscan.apple.com/content/catalogs/others/index-leopard.merged-1.sucatalog.gz

    For Tiger:

    http://swscan.apple.com/content/catalogs/index-1.sucatalog.gz

    For Panther:

    http://swscan.apple.com/scanningpoints/scanningpointX.xml
     

Share This Page