software update keeps notifying me the firmware update

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dp84, Oct 30, 2010.

  1. dp84 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #1
    I installed it 2 times with the software update e 1 time manually..

    What's wrong? This is from the system profiler

    is the 1.39f11 the correct version?
     
  2. dp84 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #2
    ok sorry I'm stupid! ..I forgot the correct procedure for the update (keep the power button pressed until the flashing light or the sound..)

    now the system profile reports

    and the software update does not found anything
     
  3. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    Nice to know Im not the only one who cant manage to update his Pro first time xD (My system profiler now says the same, so it must be correct :D)
     
  4. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #4
    This is my 3rd time doing an EFI update to a Mac, and I still managed to need 3 reboots to get it right. (Turns out if you don't hold the button, you have to redo the update from OS X)
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    I was under the impression the issue would be forgetting to manually launch the updater utility.
     
  6. scottsjack macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #6
    Ha Ha. Glad I'm not the only stupid one. I too didn't read all of the instructions, assuming that it just installed itself. I had some strange video effects with the partial install and was getting all ticked off until I figured out that it kept wanting to updrade because I kept doing it wrong :)

    Everything is just fine since I actually read the instructions and did what they said!
     

Share This Page